Jaywalking and Other Craziness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 17th 2005
Published: September 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I got to Thailand 2 nights ago, found a small room on Kao San road (backpacker central) for B140 a night (the equivalent of $3.50), and have been wandering around the city for the past 2 days. Why I love travelling in "less developed" countries: 1. They are cheap as hell. I spent 50 cents on Pad Thai earlier today and it was way better than any Pad Thai I've had in the US. 2. The smells. My cab from the airport had a string of magnolias hanging from the rearview mirror. It was nice. 3. The sheets. In Nicaragua I had Little Mermaid sheets in my homestay. Here, I have sheets that say "California Dreamy" all over them and have little pictures of teddy bears. I don't want to know the last time these sheets were washed...4. The excitement factor. In the U.S, crossing the street is no big deal. I do it all the time without even thinking about it, really. In Massachusetts, especially, because there is a state law that says that cars must stop for pedestrians. There are all these nice walkways and the cars have to stop and let you go. Well, here there are the walkways - in some places, if you're lucky - but there doesn't seem to be the law. And traffic lights seem to happen only every few miles. So every time I crossed the street it was like a brush with death. Ah, the thrill.

Anyway, I'm going to Ko Samui (an island in the Gulf of Thailand) tomorrow. Hopefully it will be a bit less hectic and overwhelming than Bangkok. I may be getting a free pass to the music festival there next weekend, which would be awesome. I'll keep you posted...

Advertisement



17th September 2005

You're funny
This is sooo great. I especially liked the comments about the sheets! What a world this is! When I was hitch hiking around Europe my parents had no clue where I was or what I was doing. Long distance calls were for rich folks! Keep it up...Love you
19th September 2005

Khao san road
Sounds great! ill be going to bangkok maybe around feb or march by my self. excited to do stuff and trip out
19th September 2005

Is co Sam Mui still there?
Dear Daniela, So glad to be finally blogging. I thought co sammui might have disappeared after the tsunami. love, dyana
20th September 2005

wish i was there
Say hi to all the people you meet there for me. I know they don't know me but just say "Jos says hi."
21st September 2005

My first ever Blog
I'm so excited to be "connected" can't wait until the next entry. JJ is jealous and wishes you would have taken him along!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb