Day 11 - Relax Hotel AKA Hotel Horror


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
April 28th 2007
Published: April 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jungle Queen
Well today we decided we had been staying in luxury for too long and we should downgrade our accomodation a little to get a real travellers experience. Rachel picked out a place from the lonely planet and we headed off, it seemed nice and at only AUD40 - extremely cheap. Needless to say we learnt a very very valuable lesson.


We didn't have hot water, so that was a little annoying, but we got over that - for $40 what can you expect.

Then during the middle of the night I thought I was dreaming of rotten eggs - it wasn't until I heard Cat banging around trying to turn the air-conditioner off that I realised the smell wasn't in my dreams it was actually in our rooms - and it wasn't rotten eggs but more likely sewrage. (This hotel room was located just off the main street and directly opposite a building site, the room itself was the size of a toilet cubicle and the beds were mattress lying on the ground. So during the night when this putrid smell started my tired little brain thought turn the air-con off and the roof fan on in a hope the smell would be pushed out the exhaust fan on the wall, no such luck, the smell continued to hang around - we did keep telling ourselves what can you expect for $40, we certainly did not expect what was about to happen)

The problem fixed itself eventually but it came and went in waves for the rest of the evening.

So by my terms that was probably bad enough to make us want to leave the next day - ah but no it got worse, at about 1am their seemed to be a thai couple outsilde our room arguing. This went on for about 1/2 hour and i dozed back to sleep - I was then awoken by a large crash of glass and people screaming above us - then cars and motorcycles rocked up and it seemed that were at least 20 people outside screaming, throwing things and breaking glass. Being the panicky person I am I decided to put my sneakers on in case we needed to make a quick get away. The whole kuffufel lasted about 15 minutes. We aren't sure if the police arrived or not - we didn't want to get to close to the windows in case a rock came flying through but it seemed to settle down.

It took about two hours for me to get back to sleep- mainly thanks to my overactive imagination. When it started raining I thought perhaps someone was pouring gasoline outside our room. then every motorbike that came back I thought it was going to be the start of round 2. I finally got back to sleep for a bit - sneakers and all...

We checked out the next morning and went to a place that charges A$100 a night, still cheap but much more like what we are accustomed to.

Oh and I forgot to add - before all this kefufal, Rachel and I got pedicures and manicures - which i promptly chipped the next day...


Advertisement



29th April 2007

The Beach?....
I know its only Hollywood...but if you take a look back at the movie the Beach where Leonardo Dicaprio is staying at a shotty hotel in Thailand...no doubt that would hve cost $40 a nite too...bullets and blood provided! Travelling...its all about the experience...!!! Take the good with the bad and its one hell of an adventure!!! I'm glad that you all survived in one piece and that your super bedtime sneakers didn't have to put to good use... I hope your recovering from your bugg n rash lady boi! Keep sweet! -Cactus
1st May 2007

Thanks Cactus - those scenes did flash through my mind at some point...skin malfunction and illness all cleared up:)

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb