THAI STYLE...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
March 16th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally, hello from Ko Samui, Thailand! Took my time didn't I? Well if the truth be known I've just been trying to get my head back to normal since the flight and since experiencing Bangkok in all its glory!!! (Here's me thinking I'd seen it all...yeah right!)
Myself and Susan arrived into Bangkok on Monday and were very fortunate to be able to meet up with an ex-pat Richard, originally from Belfast (god, us folk get everywhere!) to show us around. Our first night was pretty chilled and we met his family who were out on holiday and had a nice meal with them. When the end of the night rolled around me and Sus were told that we'd experience the REAL Bangkok the next night! I think Rich was testing the waters that first night to see if we'd be up for it!!! He obviously didn't know us too well!!!
Next day we went exploring around Bangkok and took our first tuk-tuk ride (that was an experience!) I thought the cab drivers in New York were bad! Afew times I saw my life flash before my eyes, but we managed to reach the Grand Palace to see the emerald buddha which was amazing and walked the grounds of the marble temple. I tried stalking some monks to get a picture with them but they just weren't having it!
That night we met Richard again, and ventured from Sukhumvit. Many vodkas later we ended up in a place called Long Gun in the thick of it all. Myself and Sus were the only white women in the place and stood out like sore thumbs or "falangs" as they call us, but the service was great (isn't that what people go to these places for????) It was good craic (...ahem) and well at first a bit shocking it soon got old. There is really only so much blow piping, balloon popping action one can take! (Ok Johnny, that doesn't count you!) Although it must be said it was pretty impressive and I think me and Susan will leave Thailand with some new skills!!! lol.
Met some really nice people that night in one of the late night pool rooms and befriended a lovely guy called Pooh who recently moved back to Thailand from New York! Couldn't believe it when he told me he lived near Van Cortlandt Park! (Right next to where I lived in the Bronx) what a small world! Almost died when he told me he was 48 and had 5 kids!!!! He looked 30 tops! I should live here a bit longer...
The next day, I was honestly dying. We had about two hours sleep and then had to catch the plane to Ko Samui. Felt so sorry for the taxi driver as I was so sick on route (such a classy gal!). Luckily Susans organised packing mean't that I reached a bag on time!
Had nowhere organised to stay on the island so looked up our trusty lonely planet and went straight for a decently priced, air conditioned bungalow beside Chaweng Beach where we slept for 6 hours before venturing out to explore. The place is amazing, totally beautiful and so full of life. The food and drink is so cheap and Chaweng beach is class! Plenty of music and thai style bar huts, with thai massages on call! Happy days! The only thing is that every time you close your eyes to relax and kick back someone comes up and tries to sell you something. I think I'll bring a sign with me tomorrow, mind you they are just trying to make a living and I am on their beach!
So Paddys night is on the horizon and we found it...the holy grail...TROPICAL MURPHYS! It's sure to be a mad one and no doubt we'll fit in just fine! So I'll get the sangsom thai whiskey lined up! Watch this space for the St. Paddys Day update and Happy St. Paddys day to you all...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



17th March 2007

Paddys
Happy st paddys! after the few i've had i think i would def go for one of those chicks with the adams apple! Sounds like ur having a blast. If u want some contacts in NZ give us a shout.
17th March 2007

BOOYAKASHAAAA
Good to see you chicks are getting into the thick of things and loving it! have a great St.Paddys night Thai stylie! cant wait to hear again from you crazy ladies on your adventure. Remember to leave Thailand ;) love Lis xxx
18th March 2007

Go girl..
Love the red dress..though at first i didnt recognise you in all that make up...Lol..I recognise some of the places you where.. brings back some great memories..Have a great St paddys,,hope you remembered the dioralite..for the Hangover..Sounds like you will need it.Ps will i still keep you a scone in the mornings..Take care mrs..
18th March 2007

hi
hey b sounds like you're having a ball!can't wait for your next update...maybe you'll find a thai 'rob stewart' haha! xxx
18th March 2007

Happy Paddy's day!
ODB! Looks like you've settled in to the backpacking way of life already. Make sure you remember the ballonpopping skills for your return - I will demand to see that party-trick at Oxegen, maybe they'll let you go on stage for everyone to see?? You look happy and chilled after just one week - imagine what three months will do!! Stay safe, drink lots of booze and enjoy! Hope you had a fab St Pat's. xx
19th March 2007

fun and games
Hey chickadee, great to hear from you and find out how it's all going. Hoe you had a grand Paddy's Day. I had a wee whisky for you!!! Keep on with the travelling, love ali x
19th March 2007

Happy St Pat's
Hey girl, what a good read. Glad you included me in your update. I'm just back from Oz and my buddy Melissa has travelled back with me to stay at my new flat for a few months. So I decided we should spend St Pats in Belfast. What a fun day, there was a parade too. Anyway very big hangovers all round. Hope you were able to celebrate the old guy there too. Look forward to your next update. Bro x
20th March 2007

Paddys Day
Hi Honey, Hope you had a great St Patricks day. Sounds like you are having a ball!! You just keep enjoying yourself bird. Love ya lots - take care.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb