It's English Time!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
March 27th 2012
Published: December 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Although I was there for a very specific purpose, an English Camp, it didn’t stop me from enjoying the island. We were stationed at the National Park found outside of the “city” and it was simply beautiful. The beach was charming and the rooms set back in the woods, everywhere you turned a new critter was scurrying past you.



A group of us were teaching over 100 kids English as well as a respect for the enviornment with programs like a beach clean up and ID this object which could be anything from a shell to a leaf to a seed pod of some sort. It was a really great way to mix the two and for myself it was probably the best English Camp I could be apart of.



When we had a bit of free time I took the opportunity to explore the area. Although I couldn’t go too far, in the small area we were camped out at I was able to pick up several bird species, two primate species, and a few herps while I was at it. The most exciting being this little guy who I only saw once. Another fun moment came early in the morning when I was walking around and heard some splashing. As I looked over I saw a bunch of Macquas jumping from tree limbs into the little pond having a blast! Naturally because I desperately wanted a shot of them jumping in the water I never achieved that, but I got plenty of them swimming around having a good time.

Koh Lanta was quite a bit different from the touristy Koh Phi Phi and was a nice change up. I enjoyed working on such a beautiful island and wouldn’t mind doing another English camp in such a location


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb