Day Trip to Ko Rok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
December 4th 2010
Published: December 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This entry will be a bit short since I'm a bit drunk on mojitos right now. I only had two, but man, they really getcha! Also, I don't have Zach's camera (which is waterproof) so I can't upload the underwater pics tonight. I will pop on tomorrow to do that. Well last Sunday... I think it was the 29th or something... we planned on going to Koh Phi Phi. We got rained out so ended up lounging around. Annie, from our bungalows, had her son drive a few of us around Lanta for a free tour because she felt bad we couldn't do our tour. It was really sweet of her and her son, and it just ended up being one of the many kind things the staff here did for us.

Monday, the weather could not have been any more perfect for our snorkelling trip to Ko Rok. Far and away, this is THE most beautiful place I have ever been. The snorkelling was excellent, the sand was powder white, and the monitor lizards were awesome.

The unfortunate part of the trip was that Zach went out the night before, got quite drunk, and had a massive hangover. He then got sea sick on the speed boat and ended up being miserable the whole time. Usually I am the one who gets motion sick, but the boat ride didn't get me. It was pretty bumpy though. If you see pictures of Zach hanging his head out the back of the boat, that is why. On the way back, he stood at the end of the boat the whole hour it took to get to our bungalow with his head over the side.

We got to snorkel three different times. I don't know how to swim very well, and I get very nervous in deep water. I used the life jacket and it worked great. Laugh all you want, but some Asian tourists in the boat next to us had not only life jackets on but also had those orange life savers with the rope tied to the boat. They weren't going no where!

We snorkelled twice and then landed on Ko Rok for lunch. As much as I love curry, I have had it on every day trip we have went on. Needless to say, I don't really want to eat curry for a long long time. Here's a little piece of information for you all: Zach hates lemon grass. This may not seem like a big deal except almost every Thai dish has lemon grass in it. He compares it to dish soap. So now, everytime we order something, he has to ask if there is lemon grass. 9 times out of 10 they will say no lemon grass but there will be. I love watching him try to eat it muahaha.

Ok back on topic. We stayed on the actual island of Ko Rok for two hours. I scoped out the lizards and then lounged around on the most beautiful beach ever. We then left and went snorkelling again. I got to see a moray eel! It was huge I swear, even if the picture makes it seem like it was 2 feet long. It was probably about 7 or 8 feet. No sharks or anything 😞 but lots of cool fish. The water is so clear you can see for 30 meters they said.

The one bad thing about snorkelling in salt water is that it hurts to touch your hair and your skin feels all salty and gross. I looked like some scary witch woman when I got out of the water so you won't see too many pictures of me after snorkelling.

At this point, I may be getting my days all confused. I think we went to Mr. Wee's for supper when we got back. Now, if you ever go to Koh Lanta, you MUST go to Mr. Wee's. They have the best pizza EVER! We got the pizza ninja, which had beef, onion, ham, green pepper, pineapple, extra cheese, and I think that is it. I am not ashamed to admit we ate there 3 times so far. The cheese naan and chicken satay is also delicious. The pizzas are about 200-250 baht ($6 or so), and while not huge, one pizza will feed both Zach and I.

So in summary: go to Ko Rok, eat pizza at Mr. Wee's, don't drink the night before snorkelling


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



5th December 2010

Gorgeous Beach
Every day, i look for a new blog entry. It makes me feel like i am with you when i can read about the great adventure you and zach are having. I agree, you will probably cry when you leave. this trip was a once in a lifetime experience!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb