Another tropical island.........


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived on the island of koh Lanta after spending hours squashed into a sardine can on wheels and a crazy driver!
The island was relatively small and had plenty of beach resorts, more family holiday orientated I think, (after almost 3 weeks of staying on beautiful beaches with clear warm sea we had had enough of chilling out), so we hired a moped and drove around the island, it was quite poor, I am judging this by the state of peoples houses and the littered markets lining the edge of the road.
The island was hit by 2004's tsunami but there was only considerable minor damage to be had. I booked in for another dive a few kilometers from Koh Lanta out towards koh Phi Phi (where the film The Beach was shot) I went alone as James was saving his pennies, the dive site was part of a national park and it was beautiful! I swam next to a large turtle I saw lion fish, moray eels, sting ray, and many more beautiful creatures; the coral an amazing tangled carpet beneath me, the colors and shapes were purely incredible.
It rained an awful lot on this island and there was a thunderstorm every evening. There was a fantastic display of lightning over the ocean at night. I sat on the beach and watched, remembering some advice Dave Fincham had once given me about staying safe in lightning.
I didn’t rate this island very much and wouldn’t be in any hurry to return.

Advertisement



10th April 2007

'wouldn't rate this island very much'
I can tell you're getting spoiled out there now! Keep up the good work! Thanks for the update. If you get too sick of paradise I'll come out and trade places with you. There's a free tour of Fylingdales in it for you.
10th April 2007

Amazing
Cherie it's so nice of you to share your adventures with us and again you write so well I feel as though I am there with you. Ryedale still the same!! Take care and stay safe. Sue B
10th April 2007

sounds like ur having an amazing time, even tough ur not on the best of islands, knowing u at college neva tought ud leave pickering!! its good to hear your well n having a good time! ur so lucky to be seein the world, hope to hear from u soon!!!
11th April 2007

lightning
wow - bet that was spectacular - glad advice came in handy! Cheers for taking time to put photos and write this up, it's fascinating. Keep up the good work!

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb