Soaking up the sun


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Where ElseWhere ElseWhere Else

We are staying in a little grass hut.
So I'm feeling better now. This might be a more inspird entry about life here so far. We arrived the first night and had a bit of trouble finding a place in our price range. After a bit of hunting we settled on a place that was OK called the Smile house. That night we went out for dinner then ended up meeting a couple from Holland, a couple from U.K. and a girl from Vancouver. Went to the next bar down the street and met 3 more people from the U.K. The next morning I woke up sick and slept most of the day. After I wrote the last entry we went to a funky place called "Where Else" to see a band. I sat down and ordered some yogurt/fruit and a glass of water from this nice Thai lady. She got really concered and I told her I was sick. She was really sweet and convinced me to let her make me her special rice soup that would bring my strength back. It was really good and though I could only stay out until about 10 the next morning I was starting to feel better. We ended up moving
Don't PanicDon't PanicDon't Panic

Some good advice
to "Where Else" where the other Canadian girl Erin was staying. Yesterday we rented a scooter (all 3 of us rode on it at once) and explored the island. The Thais always ride around 3 or more on a little scooter but I guess they were surprised to se foreigners doing it. We got lots of laughs and waves. All of us returned without anyone falling off and no injurys which was very nice.

Last night Katie and Erin went out while I went to meet up with a couple of the people from the U.K. We were sitting at this bar when the guy working there decided he wanted to go to a party. He just came over and said "To leave whenever we wanted to" shut off the lights, lit a candle near our table and left. We stayed until about 5 AM. By that time some guy wandered in drunk, he promptly fell asleep (snoring very loudly) at the table next to us. Then the bartender returned and went to sleep behind the bar.

Today I've been just laying near the beach. Katie and Erin went to another island called Ko Phi Phi saying they
KrabiKrabiKrabi

The view from our place in Krabi
may not come back tonight as the last ferry off is at 3.
I'm off to wander around ... I hear there is a place to get decent pizza near here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Katie and ErinKatie and Erin
Katie and Erin

Looks like one has been on the beach longer
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Our beach and a great little boat to lay in.


17th January 2007

The magic of chicken soup
I'm so happy to hear there's someone around to take care of you when you get sick. This story makes me want to go straight to Ferris' for some chicken penne rice-ball magic! We can go when you get home and you can tell me how it compares. (I bet they don't have yam fries in Thailand...or do they?)

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb