Now in Ko Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
January 12th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update for everyone. I got my first food poisoning this morning (hopefully my last). I'm pretty weak right now and it just drained the energy from me. I've been able to keep some fruit and yogurt down so hopefully the worst is behind me. Luckily I don't have any commitments here or much to do but lay on the beach. We have traveled about 1400 KM to the south and are now on a island called Ko Lanta. We flew Air Asia down here. It was quite an experience. Take a very budget airline, mix in the Thai lack of time management and you have a recipe for very late planes. Both flights were delayed by over 2 hours and we changed gates 5 times. Once they even changed the gate on the board, but the plane arrived at the old gate. When some Ausi guy asked from an explanation the person working at the gate gave was " Plane far but not far go gate fly". Then she walked away as if this made the most perfect sense in the world.

We arrived in Krabi, stayed at a smelly hotel called the Thai hotel for the night and then caught a van to Ko Lanta in the morning. Yesterday I rented a scooter again with much more success than last time. We are staying in little bungalows near the beach. It is very nice on the beach and I even went swimming today. Things are pretty basic here. They just got power and phone lines about 7-8 years ago. It was hit by the Tsunami in 2004 (not as hard as other places)but things are built back up. It's also more expensive than anywhere else we've been (but not too bad).

Anyway I'm going to try and eat something. I hope all is well back home. I heard it snowed. Ewww.

Advertisement



14th January 2007

Hope that your feelin' better Jon. Now you are on Ko Lanta you have an excuse to lay back and soak up the sun and feel better. Great blog by the way...

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb