SUAY(rising tone) means BEAUTIFUL


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
December 21st 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In my opinion, the word beautiful is extremely overused in Thai culture. … “Suay… then translated “Beau-ti-fullll!” seems to echo as I walk down the street. At first I blushed, then I was flattered, then maybe a little annoyed, now I just take it as a Thai quirk as I’ve realized that the kids homework is just as vehemently considered beautiful. Still I will likely never be the same. If I don’t get told I’m beautiful at least four times a day by some stranger or student I tend to think that something is stuck on my forehead. For example today, I lost count around the 7th time someone called me beautiful. I believe they were almost all students today as I was walking down the halls. “Teacher beau-ti-full.”

Even more embarrassing is “NATALIE, same, beau ti fullll.” Natalie? I ask. Natalie, miss universe you same. After 3-4 times of getting this comment from random store clerks, I decided to look her up. I found, that unfortunately, I look very little like her. However, the Russian Canadian winner of the “Miss Universe” contest (which I didn’t know existed) is very beautiful, so I suppose I should be flattered. Somehow, instead, I just feel vaguely disturbed. I think every white girl with brown hair might resemble this celebrity who married a Thai Tennis player.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb