My Motorbike and Me


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
December 12th 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Thai’s are very fond of their motorbikes and indeed it is the most effective mode of transportation available. The first day I came to live in Chumphon I decided to go ahead and splurge the extra $1000 Baht ($33) per month and rent myself a motorbike from the landlord. I went ahead with the cheaper version and got a manual rather than an automatic. While never having driven a manual bike I figured it couldn’t be that different from a car. Upon receiving the bike my landlord watched as I bumped the bike along the driveway and took it for a nice little spin. While looking out rather disapprovingly at my progress she said, “Its ok, wait, you and motorbike be one, then it ok.”

I felt this was very good advice. Now, as I zip to and from my school I feel as if we have become one. I lean, it leans. I love the flow of air and its shiny red surface waiting for me after school. I love that I can usually make it home in 5 minutes but if feels like I am miles away as the temperature drops a few degrees and the trees provide cover. I relish in the fact that the Thai’s have so few rules of the road that I feel more rather than less excepted when I veer slightly into the other lane in order to go around some too slow vehicle.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1mb