Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
November 15th 2009
Published: November 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am lying in my brand new duplex flat. When I say brand new I mean both new to me and to this world. The place was completed less than a month ago. I suppose most of us our surrounded by people non-stop in our lives but I don’t even remember a time when I haven’t been. This is my first time living alone and I’m going to guess it’s going to take a touch of getting used to. I have no idea what to do with all this space and time. Still I’m happy. Finally, finally no more living out of a backpack! The events of the last week have been pretty strange and draining.

I was called for a substitute job starting on Monday of last week here in Chumphon. First I was just told, “We found you a placement!” 10 minutes later I found out that meant a placement for 3 days. Disappointed but ready to see a new location by the beach for a few days I packed my bags along with my roommate through-out the trip, Nicole who was also waiting for a job. Four people were left from my program without jobs.

I arrived in Chumphon the first day and was told that classes were cancelled as the students were taking a test on Buddhism. So we waited. Sitting around the office and getting to know the school two of the girls there who had been teaching for a week (Jodi and Katie) told us out right that they hated teaching and wanted to leave at the earliest opportunity. I said, “I’ll take your job!” After that, things were a whirlwind. Two other substitutes had to come down to sub for them at the drop of a hat. Now there were four of us and two permanent jobs. I stuck in my plea for a job early and got confirmation. I had a position! The other three had to fight it out a bit. Finally, it was settled, a guy named Angel would stay. The decision made and agreed on, the relief for everyone was palpable (even with some lingering bitterness at how chaotic the situation had been)



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb