Ao Nang, Scooters and Bad Food


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
February 26th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My New BuddyMy New BuddyMy New Buddy

Can you believe he ate the whole thing!
Well we are currently on the island of Koh Muk. And I just went through a very horrible day. The night before we went out for dinner in Ao Nang. Decided it was a good time to get a really good meal at a very nice restaurant, right on the beach. Of course, I got food poisoning. I threw up 7 times yesterday and only managed to eat 2 chips and 2 pieces of toast. Yesterday was a travelling day as well, to make things worse. It started out w an hour and a half in a minivan, driven by the worst driver in Thailand. I made them pull over once...could have been more. Then it was an hour in a boat to the island. As soon as I jumped out of the boat, it was time to throw up again. Not a good day.
The day before was a lot of fun though. Jenn and I rented a scooter to go exploring. We went to Tiger Cave Temple, which is situated on top of one of the mountains. After 1237 steps, we made it to the top. Both of us covered in sweat. Great view of the surrounding area. But
Tiger Cave TempleTiger Cave TempleTiger Cave Temple

The steps are so steep in some places, at this point we only had about 1000 more to go.
Doi Suthep had a much nicer temple. That's probably because you can drive most of the way up. Driving the scooter was fun. Had to keep in mind that I was driving on the wrong side of the road most of the time, and Thais don't follow the rules of the road very much. We had fun at the temple feeding monkeys and were blessed by a nun. Afterwards, we drove to another beach, known for it's fossils. We didn't stick around very long because we were hungry. So back to Ao Nang. After wandering around for a bit, we hung out at the beach and went for a swim. After the dinner from hell (at this time, I didn't know that) we had some drinks and one of the guys from the group and myself, headed out on the town.
It must have been biker week, because the streets were full of choppers, and when we entered the first bar, it quickly filled up w colour flying bikers. These guys were pretty good and we partied w them for a bit. Next thing I know, I'm riding down the road on the back of a chopper, on the way
Tiger Cave TempleTiger Cave TempleTiger Cave Temple

Great view though!
to another bar. As soon as I walk in the place, this huge guy comes over and says in a not so polite way, for me to leave. Considering I'm in Thailand, and this guy is a biker, I made my exit. As I was leaving, the guy turns around and I see Bandidos on his jacket...yikes.
I'm feeling better this morning, I just hope it holds up, because we're headed out on the sea safari today. Meaning likely, very poor washroom conditions, and we're sleeping on the beach. That also means they're won't be any updates for a few days. That's it for now. When we get back to Bangkok, I will get in touch again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ao NangAo Nang
Ao Nang

A nice sunset!


26th February 2007

Hope you are feeling better Brian, but are you sure it was the food and not the after dinner adventure. By the way, all of the Jessup's are now following your trip on your blog and enjoying it very much. Love Mom and Dad
26th February 2007

be a little more careful
sorry you were ill hope your feeling better .When do you arrive home FYI snow came off part of your roof
7th March 2007

Those pesky little monkeys
Your photo of that spider monkey brought back many memories for me. I remember camping out in the wilds of the amazon when I befriended one. We became close pals, so much so when it was lights out at the end of the night, my newest pal and I would cozy up to the fire and fall asleep hugging each other.
7th March 2007

Gerry despres
Brian and Jen.. you have a great blog here..really awesome.. I just wanted you to know, Gerry has had tooo much time tonight and added that last comment. Have a great time out there in Thailand !

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0879s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb