Koh Muk, Koh Rok and Hard Ground


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Morakot CaveMorakot CaveMorakot Cave

Or Emerald Cave, you swim 80 m through the cave and come to a small lagoon. Beautiful.
Well we're currently in the city of Trang, killing time before getting on our last overnight train. Only a few days left in our trip as well.
The sea safari to Koh Rok was a mix of everything. The beaches were beautiful, and the waters very warm. We both got lots of sun. The snorkelling was amazing, even w most of the coral damaged from the tsunami. There was an amazing array of colourful fish, everywhere we went. I even saw an eel and octopus hunting for dinner. The first day on the island was spent lazing around and snorkelling just off the beach. We had a tent to sleep in, but the ground (which was sand) was packed harder than cement, mixed in w tree roots. Suffice to say, we had the two worst sleeps of our trip on the safari. Jenn also informed me that the washroom situation was the worst she had seen as well. The island itself is a national park, so it had public washrooms. Which someone had plugged, and it had overflowed. Not pretty. There were also the monitor lizards, which roamed the island and got into the garbage and washrooms, like racoons at home.
Morakot CaveMorakot CaveMorakot Cave

It was pitch black for quite a bit...there were guides w flashlights.
Some were over 6 feet long. Luckily, they paid no attention to the sleeping meals only 50 feet from there hangout.
Dinners were all basic Thai foods, which were fine for us, but some in the group wanted western foods.
On the second day we went out around 9 am to go snorkelling around the island. There were so many fish and i took so many pics w my new toy. Someone saw a baby shark (luckily not me) and I was assured the big ones stay out in the deeper waters.
In the afternoon, the boat operator took us back out to go fishing. Not as exciting as I had hoped. Just little fish, and the gear wasn't up to standard. I managed to catch one fish and a burn. When they asked if we wanted to try somewhere else, we all went in. What they didn't tell us is that they were going fishing for bigger fish. What they call swordfish, but to me they looked like oversized barracuda. That would have been fun, but after all that sun, I just wanted to laze around. We did get to taste the fish for dinner though and it was
My PosseMy PosseMy Posse

Everywhere I swam, these guys were following along in my wake.
delicious. Jenn found it a bit fishy though. I guess I should tell you that I'm feeling way better now. One day was enough of that.
When we got back to Koh Muk, we had lunch, I had a shower and headed down to the beach for my first Thai massage. I know, I've been here how long and this is my first one? Well, after those sleeps, it was bliss to be stretched and kneaded into a big ball of mush. The rest of the day was for lazing around another hotels pool ( which we were supposed to pay 200 baht apiece to use, but no one approached us hehe) and later a nice dinner on the beach. It was a nice end to our beach experience in Thailand.
Tonight, the train, tomorrow, Bangkok and shopping galore at the big market in town. This will likely be our last entry for the trip. We'll be home on Sunday, but don't call us, because we'll still be on Thai Time (which has a double meaning ). See you all at home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Finding NemoFinding Nemo
Finding Nemo

I also saw the fish w the scar in the movie as well.
SnorkellingSnorkelling
Snorkelling

I saw this guy just before heading in...I went picture crazy snorkelling.
Koh RokKoh Rok
Koh Rok

This is where we camped and did all our snorkelling.
Koh RokKoh Rok
Koh Rok

Viewpoint, meaning more stairs.
Monitor LizardsMonitor Lizards
Monitor Lizards

These were the little ones, and that's our tents in the background.


1st March 2007

Homeward Bound
Hey both of you. Have a safe journey home - all the pics and updates have been truly amazing and welcome here in the blizzards. I hope the Thailand warmth will carry you thru for a couple more weeks! Much love and hope to see you very soon, Aunt Laura

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb