Chiang Rai with no trekking


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand
January 8th 2015
Published: February 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

One again it caught me cold-feet by the National Anthem, I was wolfing down my pad-thai at the open table in the Sunday walking market, and suddenly everyone stood up unanimously, sharply match with the uproaring of the music from the loudspeaker. I hurried in step with the others while my mouth still cascading with glass noddle.

Chiangrai is rather easy to explored by feet as it is far more smaller than Chiangmai. most traveler came here for the arranged trekking tour, the standard rafting, elephant ride and sleep in a hilltribe village. everything are well manage and organised. for me...just walk around, trying whatever street food came across my way, wandering inside the market place, strolled into any of the many temple in town, few days could sneak past easily with no notice. I also went to the border town Chiang Sean and Mae Sai, trying to recalled some old memories, of course nothing bounce back, as both town had been expand far bigger than I had last seen them. Chiang Sean still retained some relaxing atmosphere with the Meklong river and couple of nice temple to visit. Mae Sai is just a huge market town full of junk from China, Burma and Thailand. car lined mile long from the border gate all through the day waiting to be aboard.

I was surprised to see so many sign in Chinese writing in Chiang Rai, even the street name are all translated into Chinese. there must be a lot of money pouring in from China, tourism or business. I saw huge area are growing tobacco before enter Mae Sai, together with many Chinese signs advertising about lands for sale...aiyaya....I only have one word for you people, be aware... “locust”!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb