Down by the River


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Phitsanulok
January 10th 2007
Published: January 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aerobic ClassAerobic ClassAerobic Class

At 6pm a mass aerobic class starts down by the river.
Today I got up early and went for a run in Lumpini Park before starting my trip to Phitsanulok. It was lovely with all the Tai Chi exercisers and other runners.

A 30-minute taxi drive (for 1,5 Euros) took me to the main Train Station and I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the place. Clean, light and no queues! I noticed there are no beggars here, I haven't seen one yet. I wonder why? I got a 2nd class ticket on the express train to Chiang Mai and arrived in Phitsanulok at 15:30. I made my way to the top-listed guest house in the budget section of my Lonely Planet guide and it turned out to be really nice if very basic, very clean and new and quiet although it's in the middle of town, between the railway station and the river. It's called Bon Bon Guest House.

I bumbled around quite a bit, walked up the river to see the temples but realised half way I had the wrong clothes on.. Sleeveless tops aren't the right thing to have on when visiting temples.. Will go back tomorrow. I haven't tried the food from the street stalls
A Cool Place to RunA Cool Place to RunA Cool Place to Run

After sunset all the runners gather at the riverside.
yet apart from all the fruit. I have seen some nice stands though where I will certainly try some stir-fried dishes tomorrow evening.

It wasn't only Bangkok, here also there is a very sporty flair to the town. By the river hundreds of runners (mostly men) and aerobic hoppers (mostly school girls) started their evening activities. I am looking forward to a run tomorrow morning again!

The internet connection in the Topland Hotel lobby is rather expensive but it's very fast, I downloaded some pictures at last. Browse through the past two entries again as I've uploaded pictures there too.

I am having a lot of fun, Thailand is a very friendly country.

Bye for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb