Papayas in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 9th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lumpini ParkLumpini ParkLumpini Park

Thais are very much in to morning sports when it's not too hot. Tai Chi and running are the favorites.
The toughest part up to now was finding the internet cafe!

The trip went really easy, flights on time, no hassle at the airport with the taxi and the studio in Fraser's Place is exactly what I needed, all the comfort and right in the middle of town.

Florian, Stephi and I went out for dinner in Curries & More, delicious thai apple salad, mushrooms and tofu and green vegetable curry... Mmmm! Then we went to a really cool bar (Dome) on the 65th floor of one of the downtown skyscrapers. It was on the roof so that we were outside, looking down 65 storeys!

Bangkok is not as dirty and chaotic as I remember. I got up at the crack of dawn to go for a walk in the Lumpini park where hundreds of people say Good Morning Bangkok with yoga, tai chi or a run in the still cool air. That was a lovely start to the day as I went on to do the tourist tour: I took the Skytrain down to the river and then took a boat-taxi to see the Grand Palace, the reclining Buddha in Wat Po and the wonderful temples nearby.
Demons and DragonsDemons and DragonsDemons and Dragons

I liked these figures at Wat Phat Kraew, the temple next to the Grand Palace
Alot of lotus flowers and lighting incense, it was fun. Wat Po is well-known for it's thai massage school and I had my first foot reflexology massage... it was heaven!

And the fruit!! Everywhere you go someone is cutting open pineapples, papayas or melons, I tried them all!

I walked around the area for hours and saw more temples, the university and the Amulet Markt where they sell all these little gods and lucky charms the drivers have in their taxis. Millions of little Ganeshs and Buddhas!

Exhausted I took the boat & skytrain back to my room and got some more papayas as the supermarket next door. I am now in the big shopping mall next door at a "free internet" station which sadly doesn't have a USB connection so I can't download any pictures.. Next time!

I hope you are all well at home!

Tomorrow morning I will be taking the train to Phitsanulok from where I want to visit the ruins of Sukothai. Hopefully I will be able to show you some pictures by then!

Bye & love..


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wat Phat KraewWat Phat Kraew
Wat Phat Kraew

The beautiful Temple Wat Phat Kraew in Bangkok
Reclining BuddhaReclining Buddha
Reclining Buddha

This 45m long Buddha lies in Wat Po, another Bangkok temple - impressing!
Bangkok SkytrainBangkok Skytrain
Bangkok Skytrain

How Bangkok ever survived without this, I don't know! This and the boat taxis made travelling round town really easy.


9th January 2007

have fun
Hi Schatzi, sounds great! Have fun, enjoy, be careful and don't eat so much ;-) love,Tom

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb