Google directions = no good


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
July 13th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After all the ruins in Ayutthaya, I went to see even more ruins in Sukhothai. This was a long 6 hour train ride (supposed to only be 5 hours) followed by an hour bus ride to get to. I was also cheap on the train and opted for just the fan and open air train instead of the air conditioned. This is a great way to experience life with the thai people, but not for the comfort factor as it is pretty warm and you have people walking up and down the train constantly selling food, beverages and other things.



Once at the bus station I planned to walk to my hostel. I had gotten directions on google before hand and it said it was only 15 minutes to walk. Well, I have no idea what directions google gave me, but I ended up nowhere near where my hostel was. After asking several people including a very helpful family who used their iPhones (everyone has one here) to show me the correct way, I needed to find a tuk tuk driver that could take me there as it was a good couple miles away and I was tired of walking.



I have yet to find a tuk tuk driver that knows any place I'm staying without consulting everyone on the block. It is always a huge ordeal and this proved no different. My driver had to go into many stores to understand where to go (most dont read and only understand verbal directions) and then he still had to stop at a couple places to ask for more directions. Finally I arrived at the place and I was so relived to find a really nice resort with a really friendly staff. 4 dollars for my night here.



The place had free bike to rent, and I was pleased to see that they were much better than the last bike I had rented. I made my way to the night market to get a bite to eat and then returned to call it an early night as it had been a long stressful day of traveling.



The next morning I went to the ruins. I met a guy from Kent in the uk and he and I rode around together on our rented bikes seeing the sites, again feeling the
Motor bikes everywhere Motor bikes everywhere Motor bikes everywhere

Can you spot my rented bicycle?
ruins repetition setting in rather quick. He was another really nice guy who had been in Bali for a wedding and was spending a month in Thailand before heading back to med school. He had done quite a bit of traveling in SE Asia before so he had some great tips and pointers for me. As a typical Brit he was good for several laughs too. It was then off to the bus station for me for another 5 hour bus ride to Chang Mai. This ride was actually five hours and I met some really friendly Spanish gals that I chatted with and helped the time pass faster. (you can always spot the Spanish a mile away as they are usually pretty loud and always joking with each other - not to mention the lisp...)


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Making offerings to the Buddha Making offerings to the Buddha
Making offerings to the Buddha

Check out the meal prepared to the right of the guy...
SpicesSpices
Spices

What makes all my food so hot!


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb