Nighttime in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 14th 2012
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Of my three nights in Bangkok, I had three distinct nighttime experiences. This city is known for its nightlife and offers just about everything for everyone. I have never really been one much for the huge clubs but do like fun and lively places and people.



The night after my first full day in town, I met up with Kenny for dinner. Kenny is my cousin Ashley's boyfriends father... one of those random connections that I keep finding myself stumbling upon. Kenny was great and he brought along his business partner friend (the are in the jewelry manufacturing business and live or have lived in Bangkok on and off since the 80s) as well as Bret who is only a couple years older than me who Kenny knew through playing softball. Bret is from the states but grew up in Bangkok, graduated high school there and is now working there. Between the three of them i got some great insight and suggestions for my travels. After dinner, which Kenny's business parter considered a business dinner and therefore picked up the check, Bret took me out with him to meet up with some of his friends from high school
Overlooking Bangkok Overlooking Bangkok Overlooking Bangkok

The city looks incredible at night
that were from all over the world but still living or just back visiting Bangkok. We went out for drinks in a lively area called sukhumvit known for being where lots of expats hangout. Hanging out with these people, hearing their stories and the fun atmosphere resulted in a great time.



The second night I met up with my friends from high school,LeRoi and Casey who have been traveling through Thailand for about a month and are about to head home. They met me at my guesthouse and we went out to dinner with everyone there through a weekly dinner that the guesthouse organizes. It was unfortunate that the lady whose restaurant they usually go to failed to tell the guesthouse that she wanted to cancel that night because she was tired. But when we all showed up she still warmed up food from lunch that was really good and quite spicy (although LeRoi seemed to think it need more spice and added a lot of peppers to even the Thais amazement!). After dinner, LeRoi, Casey and I decided to check out khao san road. This is the backpackers party area and feels a bit like spring
Vertigo bar Vertigo bar Vertigo bar

This is one of many roof top bars in Bangkok. Dress code was pants and close toed shoes.
break in cabo might be. Tons of bars, people trying to get you to go to pingpong shows (look them up) and others selling other "services". Regardless, we enjoyed catching up and LeRoi and Casey even tried eating a grass hopper (I decided to save that experience for later). One interesting thing are bucket drinks you can buy. You get a whole little thing of whatever alcohol and a can of mixer along with a bucket of ice and straw and mix your own drink on the street. Or you can buy more elaborate drinks in the bars.



The last night, I again went out with LeRoi and Casey to a roof top bar. They have these bars everywhere in the world, but they are particularly well known in Bangkok. There are several throughout the city on top of endless skyscrapers. Some charge you just to go up, but we were lucky to find one that was free to go up to (drinks were just expensive as you would expect). The views up top are incredible and gives you an appreciation for just how big the city is. 8 million people! It really goes on forever. It was a great way to close my time in the city and a great way to spend a little more time with my friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb