Laziness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
March 16th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PaiPaiPai

Sunset from Pai Canyon
I seem to have sunk into laziness this week. I was in Chiang Mai for four days before deciding to get off my butt and go see something new. That something ended up being Pai, a fairly quiet little town in the north west of thailand. the three hour plus ride up here is very winding and a little rough on the stomach but also quite beautiful and I met a guy who lives up in Pai and got some good advice on where to stay.
I'm staying in this little bungalow by the river which feels a little like a hippie village (all of Pai feels a little like a hippie village) and from the moment I sat down in the common area for lunch, I found it incredably difficult to get up again. It's hot during the day (though not as hot as elsewhere) and the motivation to get up and do anything was completely lacking. So I sat around for a couple of hours and watched half of the movie Ray and read my book. I finally got up and wandered around town a little but was back in the same spot about an hour later.
In the
Pai Hot SpringsPai Hot SpringsPai Hot Springs

toasty warm and pretty abandoned at 6am.
evening it cools right down here which was wonderful. I went with two people I met at the bungalows to see a film at the Spiritual Film Festival that's in town this week. Admittedly, this isn't usually my thing but it was a documentary about a religious festival in India and was really interesting and beautifully made so I enjoyed it. Then it was tea and back to bed. In my extreme laziness I actually only ate one meal yesterday (plus a bag of chips for dinner... sorry mom).
Today promises to be another lazy day. I stopped in for a short internet visit on my way to book a minibus back to Chiang Mai tomorrow and then I think I'll go for a massage. Life's really hard here 😊 Actually, I later tonight I'm going to go with an american guy I met down to the waterfall and some canyon to see the sunset. The only way to get around here is by motorbike and I haven't really wanted to learn to drive one on bad winding roads on the wrong side of the street. So I'm getting a ride there and then in the morning I'm apparently going
Sunrise in Pai Sunrise in Pai Sunrise in Pai

Taken off a moving motorbike...
to get up at 6am to see the sunrise from the hot springs by town.
So that's my visit to Pai. Tomorrow I head back to Chiang Mai and then Saturday I head to the border and then into Laos at which point internet contact will probably be minimized for a little while as I'll spend about 5 days of the next week on a boat. I'll try to add more photos before I go but laziness is a hard thing to overcome these days.
Hope everyone is doing well... it's been great to get your comments and emails.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Guest house in PaiGuest house in Pai
Guest house in Pai

over a little bridge and down a flower-lined path... what more can you ask for?


17th March 2006

I am so impressed - waking up at 6 am!!! Don't remember you doing that at home very often.. What kind of boat are you planning to be on - it's not a cruise, I suspect?! Can you sleep on the boat too? is it with the guide, or on your own? I think that your package has made it home - I'll pick it up tomorrow! Keep enjoying yourself, and we'll see you real soon!!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb