a respite amongst hippies


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, big news.

I'm about to sign a year contract with a school in Chiang Mai ... I'll be teaching in Varee Chiang Mai and while I was just paid for summer school (so I've got a wee paunchy cushion now and I'm doin' a lil' holiday in Pai w/some friends and I bought myself the cutest lil' cocktail dress, which looks like something Audrey Hepburn would have worn if she smoked pot, for my cocktail party on Friday), it'll be so, so wonderful to have a regular chunky wad of baht once a month. So there's buckets of celebration happening what with the job and my birthday and other such things...

Officially, the contract ends next March. I may or may not stay for the second term, however, depending on how it all goes ... so plans for return and the like are become a bit less hazy (although one never can tell). It looks like either March or, if I can't stand myself as the first grade teacher, October, after first term. We shall see, we shall see.

In other news, it's good to be back in Pai. It's good to be back somewhere for that matter. The feeling of familiarity, feeling like I know my way around something, feeling a lot less like the wide-eyed newbie. And, in a few days, I'm going home. Like, to my house. Which is in Thailand. Which is crazy because the crazy is fading into comfort.

Crazy.

Weekend trips, while we're on the subject, totally need to be reinstated.

Meanwhile, I'm meeting some friends for Asia's best pizza (this is usually said as accepted fact with no room for opinion ... it just is) and then a stroll around the markets and I'm going to try and keep myself from buying these amazing boots. And then Bebop. And then back to the a-frame bamboo bungalow for a solid nights sleep to a choir of geckos and then lounging in the river. All day. And then ...

Sigh.

Sometimes living in the land of vacations rules.

Advertisement



1st May 2007

HEY
hey! i will be back in asia this summer mid to late juen for a month or two probably-- and hopefully with more notice for you. who knows? maybe i can take a day or two off and come to chaing mai. i may go to southern thailand for a bit which would be awesome. whaa whaaa...

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb