I am Officially Done Climbing Mountains in Thailand Part 1-- Mae Hong Son


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Hong Son
October 2nd 2012
Published: October 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Best Plane EverThe Best Plane EverThe Best Plane Ever

Nok Air flight from Chiang Mae to Mae Hong Son
This blog has 18 photos. Please scroll down and turn page to view all of them.

You know it's going to be a good trip when your plane is pink! How stoked was I when I saw my Nok Air prop waiting for me on the Tarmac!After a brief flight I arrived in Mae Hong Son and was immediately captivated. The city is gorgeous.My English speaking guide picked me up at the airport and we drove to Fern Resort so I could throw my bags in a room. It was then time to tackle the first mountain. We drove a washed out, hairpin turn road to a wonderful lookout point and then made our way through the ruts and mud to a White Karon Village. We met up with some locals who had us in for a delicious cup of green tea served in bamboo cups.I liked the large leaf they placed on the floor as a sort of placemat. After tea, we ventured out onto the mountain. There was no path through the jungle so it was machete time. The going was steep and slippery and there was a couple of times I wondered if this might end upon a bad note.."oh shit, I'm gonna die my first day in Thailand." After what seemed like forever we came to 2 stunning waterfalls. After hanging out at the largest waterfall for a while and getting soaked by spray, it was time to navigate the mountain slope again. As we picked our way along the frsh cut path,I decided I needed to channel my inner goat(-- I'm a Capricorn,) and stay sure footed on the precarious slope. This goat channeling was to serve me well throughout my stay in Northern Thailand. It was a seriously fun first trek and when I got back to town I was spent.Back at the Fern Resort I had a wonderful Shan style curry to cap the night off...a monkey played on my roof all night, but I was too tired to care.










Unfortunately I have noted that when using my iPad to upload photos non of my crops or other edits show, so forgive the occasional finger, dark picture etc.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Taking a break from weaving to have some tea with meTaking a break from weaving to have some tea with me
Taking a break from weaving to have some tea with me

To the right are the tools of her craft. She had been using a wax ball to treat the wood
Tea TimeTea Time
Tea Time

The large leaf resting on the basket to the left was out placemat



CloudsClouds
Clouds

Mae Hong Son seems permanently enshrouded in clouds






Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb