Day Number Five


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 20th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so the bus wasnt the BEST experience of my life but hey, it had to be done, and I am now a better man for experiencing it. However, I was supposed to be catching the same bus back to Chiang Mai in 4 days time and then another bus to Phuket which is a 12 hour bus journey. I cancelled both of them and bought a plane ticket instead. Thank god for that.

We arrived at our hostel 'Nice place 2' afrer hopping into a truck and driving for another 15 minutes. I met some of the girls I was going on the trek with and then had a much needed shower. After breakfast we headed back to the truck and were off to start our journey through the Jungles of CHiang Mai! We stopped along the way at little market for supplies and food. Here I bought some strange omelette thing for lunch and a poncho for the Tropical Rainfall.

From the markets we drove forever through the hills and past some besutiful scenery. (Along the way I noticed how swollen my feet had become from the Bus journey - last somplaint, I swear). We finally reached a hillside tribal village which was really neat to see: Bamboo huts, Pigs, chickens and all! We ate ther and then were off on our trek; I tried to wear my flipflops which did not work too well as they were falling apart on me and had absolutely no tread left on them.

We walked past streams, rice fields, massive rainforest trees and all sorts of wildlife. It was quite the welcome drastic change from Bangkoks traffic and pollution. Tom, our crazy tour guide, brought out the 'Happy Water' (Rice Whisky) to keep us trekking hard but told me to pretend it was water. We arrived at another tribal village shortly after which is where we were to spend the night.

After a solid game of asshole, we headed down to play soccer at the 'soccer pitch' which was essentially a flat muddy area covered in pig shit. It rained a little and needless to say, by the end of the game, everyone had fallen at least once into a pile of shit. THe game was pretty much Thais vs Westerners with a few mixed into the crowd. The westerners won and I somehow managed to bang in 4 of the 11 goals for our team. (It was about 7 on 7 in a really small area, very very hectic). After the game, the boys went and cleaned off in the stream and then we walked back to our hut for dinner after at least 2 hours of soccer.

After playing some games and drinking some more happy water, a bunch of the tribal children came out in traditional clothing, ung songs and danced for us. It was really amazing to experience and halfway though I was up, singing and dancing with them. After the kids left we got back to drinks and then pulled out the guitar and sung songs the rest of the night. IT was then time for bed to get ready for the elephant trekking tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Our Leader.... Our Leader....
Our Leader....

...pretending to be a swan


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb