Day 6, Elephants


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 21st 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Elephant Riding wasnt all it was cracked up to be but was still really cool. I got to be the 'Driver' and sit on the elephants head; being the driver essentially only means you sit on the head... no steering or speed regulating is involved (although I did try). We trudged through the Jungle ad a nice leisurely pace although I tried to get Bartharlomew (I named him) to take the lead but this was not accomplished. The elephants are really cool and have spikey little hairs all over them. Their skin is really leathery but soft. I was also a little dissapointed because I wanted him to spray some of the others and have a big elephant water fight. This did not happen either. 😞

When the elephant riding was over we continued our trek; by this point my shoes were completely soaked and comvered in mud as the path was one big mud pit. I had given up wearing socks with my shoes and just walked around with my bare feet in a few pools of water. We made it to another village and I had a shower after passing by a few raging pigs tied to some trees; I'm pretty sure these pigs would have eaten me whole if their little rope broke. The shower was more or less a tap inside a dark and dreary outhouse.

After dinner we played some drinking games again and drank some more happy water. It was a number game where you have to follow a beat and call your number when someone calls you out. Similar to big booty, but with alcohol so way better. When you screw up the order not only do you drink but you also get drawn on with charcoal from the cooking pot. This got really messy really fast and Tom was so drunk that he would just cover his whol dhand in charcoal and cover peoples faces with it. Out fearless leader ladies and Gentleman. We played some more games and then I headed to bed as I was knackered and my allergies were killing me. Another sleepless night sleeping on a hard mat inside the bamboo hut riddled with mosquitos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb