Doi Suthep


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 30th 2010
Published: November 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we decided to go to Doi Suthep temple which is located up at the top of a steep hill. We jumped in the back of a songthaews (red truck with a canopy) that are really common in Chiang Mai. The temple was kind of neat with a large central gold structure. We got blessed by a monk (I think). Unless he just liked spraying tourists with water and tying white strings on their wrists. The temple also gave us a chance to try jackfruit. Most hostels ban it because it is too messy but one stall at the temple had pre peeled it. It was delicious. I still have a craving for it a day later. It is like the inside of a grapfruit. The sections don't have the skin layer on them though and they taste like a cross between grapefruit and lime.

We got back later that night and decided to go to the night market. This is the best place to find rolex watches so I thought I would try my luck for a couple more. I put my new bartering skills to work and managed to get a good quality watch for cheaper than my first one. Now armed wiu a watch for myself and Rob I needed to get a bigger blunted out one for Aaron. This is where I got lucky. I was haggling for good quality with one guy and finally he brought me away from his stand to a back room. Here is where all the best quality watches were kept while they sell the cheaper ones on the street. I wished I had found this earlier but they would never show me no matter how much I haggled. I was able to walk away wiu a really good one and now each of us will have a nice watch.

At night we headed back and got a foot massage before bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb