Jungle Trek Day 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This last day was kind of painful. Our guide was so hung over he was useless. We waited for a couple of hours for breakfast then We "treked" along a dirt road for about 40 minutes. When we arrived at the next stop our guide passed out and we waited for 4 hours for a truck to take us to the river for rafting.

The white water rafting was fun but kind of short. Our Thai steersman kept splashing us so at the end we ganged up on him and soaked him. Then after our white water rafting we pulled to the side of the river to jump on some bamboo rafts but surprise surprise we would have to wait some more. The bamboo rafting was again pretty good but short. We got back to the truck to find our guide still passed out. We all got changed and the truck drove us back into town. We ended up sharing the hostel with another girl so we got two double rooms to save money.

That night there was some sort of Sunday festival and market. We patrolled around a bit and then split up around 8. They wanted to go for drinks and I wanted to explore the market some more. So I set out to explore. I forgot to previously mentiong I got an artist to sketch a portrait of me. I've always wanted to and it only cost about 4 bucks. I still don't understand why the others wouldn't do it. It took about half an hour and it is really good.

Anyways back to my exploring. I was looking for gifts and trinkets because chiang Mai is much cheaper than Bangkok. I ended up browsing for a couple hours a buying a few things. I decided to try some roadside food and head back to the hostel because it was past ten and I had the room key. I Want around and bought some roti bread with meat in it which was delicous. The Thai icecream was not and the French croissant with. chocolate drizzle is self explanatory. As I was munching my morsels and heading back to the hostel I had a dilema. I saw one of the million massage parlours. "what to do?" I asked myself. On one hand Matt might be waiting to get back into the room but on the other hand I might miss the best foot massage of my life. In the end I made a difficult decision and compromised for matt. I got the half hour foot massage instead of the hour long (he owes me big time). So there I sat eating delicious food getting a foot massage taking in the sights of thailand. I could get used to that. Then reality struck in the form of my half hour running out (I will find a way to exact revenge on matt). So I paid them a staggering 2 dollars and made my way home. Oh I made a quick detour to find another one of the croissants but they were out so I settled on fresh french bread. I decided murder was the best option when I got back a matt wasn't even home yet! Luckily he got back 20 minutes later and it was a peaceful night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb