Treking the Mountains


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys,

the last 3 days have been absolutelly fantastic. Just had one of the best experiences in my life with some of the best people one can expect to find.
I took the night train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai on thursday. It was a quite cool. The bed where very confortable and even so the journey takes 12 hours as I slept through most of it, it was quite a good trip.
As I arrived I met my treking group which would turn out to be an absolutelly great one. We all got along straight away and went out for dinner in chiang Mai. A great evening with lots of laughs a good stories to tell.
The next morning we were all in out way with Jack and Chang, our guides to the mountains near Chiang Mai.
We went elephant riding first which was not such a great experience in the heat and all the smell and stuff. So next we started treking the mountains. This was fantastic. Whe trekked for hours through sun, rain and the heat in a really amazing scenery, feeling completely lost in a discovery channel program.
Ata night we stayed at some wooden houses in the middle of the jungle. These nigt were also great. The guides cooked some great thai food for us, we lit up a fire and just played games, sang and played some tunes (couple of too many beers here) and chatted in through the night.
During the day we stoped in several waterfalls to clean the sweat out and have some great times throwing ourselves in the water.
Anyway, today everybody started going to Ko Samui and me, Eelke and Anne are still here. However we got along so well that saying goodbye to some was pretty hard. But we managed to agree to meet somewhere in Europe in a near future.
I'm still not quite sure what I'm going to do next. The weather in this place is tough. Its really hot and moist in the middle of the day. However de scenery is beautifull and theres a lot of cool things to do. Right now I'm even thinking of not going to Laos and move to the islands and maybe meet Marco and Eraclio again for some more fun but the truth it is still early. I still have two weeks to travel and I think I'll go ahead with my plan and head for Laos. If I change my mind I can always turn back.

No photos for now as it is impossible to upload them from here but later i'll put something in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



28th August 2008

the italians
great joao, i agree with you, in the jungle we meet a great group and we had the best time! it was a pitty we couldn't continue our holidays all together.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb