A visit to hospital


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 7th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the 6th all the girls and Kristian went on a 3 day trek into the jungle, leaving me and dan in chiang mai. We went to book a flight for the next day down to the south so we could hit the beach. There was no way i was doing the 12 hour night bus 2 nights in a row to get there!

We went to a bar by the hostel in the evening and I noticed that my foot had gotten a lot worse within a few hours. I couldnt move my toes they were so fat! it had spread half way up my leg. You think those photos were bad - theyre nothing. It was about 8pm and i was thinking i should probably go see a doctor. The only option was to get a tuktuk to hospital, where i thought (hoped) they would just give me a pill and send me off.

When I got there they saw me right away and said they definitely wanted to keep me in over night. At this point i was pretty worried. I was certain that there was no way i was staying there. Dan talked me round though which im really thankful for! Within minutes they had me on a bed and were sticking needles in the back of my hand. It was at this point i was thinking it probably wouldve been a good idea to have my hepititus vaccine before i came. The doctor told me that if the swelling didnt go down i would have to have surgery to drain the fluid! If i had been on my own I wouldve been histerical. Its crazy how someone i had met 3 days earlier could be such a big help and comfort.

I was wheeled to my room and was still pretty worried. After a few hours of laughing at thai tv and sniffing various bottled liquids from the fridge (including a bottle of birds nest juice!!) i was feeling more relaxed and had realised that my room was actually way better than my hostel!! It was huge with a tv, minibar, en suite and balcony.

The next day my foot was looking a little better but they said there was no way i was getting my flight and the surgeon would be in to see me later. so i told them i needed to go back to my hostel to pick up my bag and give dan his airline ticket, which was in my room as i had picked them up. They used a hospital car to drive me there and waited while i packed my bag! When i got back i realised that the idiot who booked the flight had put both our names on each ticket. (we had booked 2 flights, one to bangkok, then transfer to krabi.) So i had given dan the ticket to bangkok and i had the ticket to krabi!! i had no choice but to get my flight coz otherwise dan wouldnt have his ticket to krabi! i was actually quite glad that i had an excuse, i was desperate to get to the beach and definitely didnt want to sit around hospital for 3 days.

So i had my last drip and was practically sick after a spoonful of what they called 'tomato soup' which was a bowl of pink water with bread floating in it. My insurance hadnt gone through yet so i had to pay the bill on my card, which i was expecting to be hugeeee. That took ages. I got to the airport 20 mins before the flight and was told i couldnt fly with a needle in the back of my hand! So i had to find a nurse to take it out. The hospital had told me it would be fine and i could find a hospital in krabi and get another drip. I got back to the desk with no ticket. I tried to explain dan had mine but no luck, so i had to buy another ticket! I had to run to the plane and eventually made it to bangkok then krabi.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb