Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 26th 2006
Published: December 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Somphet Market Somphet Market Somphet Market

I had to buy pea eggplants, which handily were in the little bags already!
Soooo....it turns out that I don't think it was the Indian meal that was to blame for my dodgy insides. I ended up being in bed for 3 days, being sick. Lovely. I did start my cookery course on Saturday and wasn't too bad, until I started walking back to the hotel..and only just made it back in time. On Sunday - Christmas Day - I was even worse. I started mixing some raw chicken mince with some chilli......and had to sprint to the bathroom before I added some unwanted ingredients (not that there was anything as I hadn't eaten for 3 days). Sorry! They looked after me very well at the cookery school though, keeping me going with ginger tea and juice, so I did feel a little better in the afternoon, but went straight back to bed again when we finished.
Today, Tuesday - Boxing Day, I feel so much better, so Olly's ginger tea, made from the heart, obviously did the trick. So I enjoyed my cooking, and eating, much more today. I've done 3 days on the course now, so of course I'm being picked on to answer questions - don't they remember I was ill and
Somphet Market Somphet Market Somphet Market

Being told about different ingredients. We were each given a shopping list to buy something, with our paper money.
only there in body for two days??? Olly (one of the teachers) asked to taste my Pad Thai, and kindly pointed out that it was "bland." Yeah, thanks for that!! I did finely shred my kaffir lime leaf much better today though!!!!
I'm now sat in the dudes bar again as it's the nearest place that I can find with free wi-fi. Do you think it's a problem when you walk into a bar and they bring you a drink without even asking????
More cooking tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

I made this!!I made this!!
I made this!!

Hor neung Plaa - steamed fish in banana leaves. Mine is the one with the star!!
xmas dinnerxmas dinner
xmas dinner

spring rolls, red curry with roast duck and chicken with ginger
xmas snackxmas snack
xmas snack

Gai Hor Bai Toey - chicken in pandanus leaves. Not as easy to wrap as you might think, the chicken kept squelching out!
I made this!!I made this!!
I made this!!

Minced chicken salad
Thai fish cakesThai fish cakes
Thai fish cakes

Tord Man Plaa


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb