Get ready for the Thai banquet


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 28th 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Panaeng MuuPanaeng MuuPanaeng Muu

Panaeng curry with pork...made by me...impressed?
Firstly, I realise that I got my days totally mixed up in my last entry and had xmas day on sunday instead of monday, so everything that I said happened last time actually happened a day later. I've now done another couple of days of the cookery course, so I've completed my 5 day course - I didn't get a prize or anything! But it was great fun and I found that things got easier as the days progressed (not surprising as I was also feeling much better), especially the slicing/chopping - I now do a mean finely sliced kaffir lime leaf for decoration. Undoubtably that will be very useful to me in my future. As I'd been there for a few days I was picked on mercilessly by the instructors....having to ask questions, help with the demo.... I also got into trouble at the market as I bought a ladle for 10Baht, which they sell at the school for 50. Once everyone saw mine they bought them from the market... Even though I've completed the 5 days I'd definitely go back and do the odd day as refresher as it was so much fun (teasing included I guess.....) and may even do a master class!!! After the class (and this is very sad, I'm not sure that I should disclose it in public) I went to the market and bought a knife......to practice vegetable carving. I'm a geek, I hang my head in shame.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

learning about Thai ingredientslearning about Thai ingredients
learning about Thai ingredients

with the ever stylish Ollie
Tom Kha GaiTom Kha Gai
Tom Kha Gai

chicken in coconut milk soup
steamed banana cakesteamed banana cake
steamed banana cake

in a banana leaf boat


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb