massage at the Walking Market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 17th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided to just walk and try and get an idea of where I was in Chiang Mai, and find out where everything was. Go into a temple and get attacked by a cockerel. Then I see the chicks and understand why. Call into a spa that is so beautiful. I only called in for information, but got a herbal tea, they sat down and talk me through the treatments and give me a 500Baht voucher….uh oh!!! Hmm…which treatments will I have?? In the afternoon….I keep on walking. The “walking” market (apt) is being set up so I walk…. But it’s not quite ready so I stop and have a massage on the street. Head, shoulders, back and feet. For 120B I get over an hour of massage, sometimes painful (no pain no gain), sometimes ticklish and get to people watch at the same time! As I was walking to the market I went past a nice jewellers that were advertising classes, so I've signed up to do that tomorrow.
The market gets going around 5pm and it’s huge. I end up buying a couple of hair bands and a necklace - they are ok -and a picture. Why did I buy a picture? I don’t even have a house - a wall to hang it on!! (It is very nice though. The bloke that did it was hand making pictures by hammering steel, and mine is of the Chinese/Thai calendar….which he tells me will last for ever….).
I’m looking through the market for a bracelet like Oaks but I can’t find anything like it. At 7pm the market is unbelievably busy so I stop and get some Pad Thai on the way back from a street stall, it’s delicious, then go back to the hotel. In Bangkok when I bought all my hair products I got a free soft toy (an elephant called Beer - because in Thai elephant is chang, and there’s a beer called Chang!) and when I get back to my room the housekeep has turned down the duvet and put Beer resting on the pillow! I’ve also had a reply to my text to Oak and he has said that I can buy his bracelet if I want. Then I went down to the lounge to claim my free nightly cocktail and watched the United game on TV. Only problem was that it was in Thai! And I fell asleep. For the best, they lost!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Oasis Lanna SpaOasis Lanna Spa
Oasis Lanna Spa

you're not actually allowed to take pictures...hey ho!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb