I didn't think I needed woolies


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 17th 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Bangkok. I don’t want to go. Well I’m 50/50. I do want to go to Chiang Mai as I want to see the floral expo they have (sounds boring but It’s been done to celebrate the kings birthday and is supposed to be very good) and do the cookery course. But I love Bangkok so much, and Ali is having a party tonight that I could have gone to :o(
Spend the morning packing and find out that Teng is not working today, so I won’t be able to say goodbye or give him the gift, I’ll have to find someone to leave it with and hopefully he’ll get it. I can’t believe how sad I am that I won’t get to see him before I go. I don’t know whether it’s with being alone here, and when I do make friends or get on with someone well, it seems intensified. With Teng, he’s been so kind to me and I wanted to let him know.
Get a taxi to the airport and flight up to Chiang Mai. The weight we’re allowed for luggage is 20k…..my luggage weighs 43k!! (It’s all those hair products). Luckily I have a sympathetic check in clerk so I only have to pay excess on 5k which is only 195Baht. At Chiang Mai airport there are no taxis, so we all have to wait ½ an hour or more, then when I get to the hotel they say that they have no record of my reservation. I show them my confirmation slips and even have to go into their office to show them my email confirmation. Surprisingly I stay very calm throughout all this. I have no reservation….oh well, that’s life….. What’s happened to me??? I’ve turned Thai! They do let me check in and I upgrade, for the princely sum of 400Baht per night (£5.60) to the Dynasty Club! Not as exciting as it may sound but it does include: breakfast in a private lounge, free internet access, 2 items laundered free per day, free transport to the airport, afternoon tea in the lounge and cocktails between 6-8pm. Bargain! The hotel isn’t amazing, but the location is excellent, right in the centre next to the night bazaar. I had a bit of a walk around tonight to try and get my bearings. I didn’t get them, but I did find Starbucks and Maccy D’s. The other news is that it is so cold here! By cold I mean 25 degrees, but after Bangkok that feels cold - I hadn’t bargained on needing a jumper!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb