Day 3- First Day in Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 6th 2019
Published: January 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We started the day with a late welcome breakfast of cereal, toast, fresh fruits/veggies and fresh orange juice. The faculty and students at BCNC made us feel so welcomed! Shortly after our breakfast, we were served a delicious lunch of pad thai and mango with sweet rice. It was so good!! After eating, we boarded the bus with our Thai buddies to the KadLaung market. The market is a large street market with goods sold by local Thai people. To start shopping, we needed to exchange our US dollars for the Thai baht. I received around 3,100 baht for 100 US dollars. Buying goods in Thailand is so affordable because everything is extremely inexpensive! I bought a lot of souvenirs, and I only spent 20 dollars! After the street market, we took the bus to a mall to purchase dinner with our buddies. My buddies and I decided to eat pork kao soi for dinner, and it was so good!! It had a bit of a spicy kick to it and it was so delicious! Then, we made our way to the walking street market. This is where I ended up doing most of my shopping!! The streets were lined with vendors on either side, and it was packed with people!! It was so packed that it made it extremely difficult to stay together as a group! Throughout the day, my buddies were so generous as they purchased me different Thai foods and drinks to try. I tried fresh orange juice, avocado juice and durian. After our evening at the market, we were all extremely ready to head back to our beds, and have a good night's sleep!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb