So long, Farewell (Party)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 24th 2018
Published: January 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

One more day in Thailand, where has the time gone? Last night I didn’t sleep very well. I was restless, and my mind was going a thousand miles a minute. I woke up feeling tired and slightly strange. This morning we had bunny bunny and shrimp/rice soup for breakfast. I prefer the pork or chicken and rice soup over the shrimp, but it was still good. After breakfast we pilled into the blue bus and headed to another market/shopping area. The bus seemed empty without our buddies in toe. It was definitely a lot quieter and less entertaining. When we arrived everyone broke up into groups and started shopping. Melissa and I stayed together and searched for some treasures. Halfway through shopping I started to feel weak. I could feel the inside of my body starting to shake and pressure starting to build up inside my head. I bought an Iced cocoa in hopes that the sugar would help if i was hypoglycemic. After 10 minutes I started feeling normal again, and was ready to continue shopping. When it was time to meet back up, Melissa and I couldn’t find our way back to the bus. We were basically lost in the masses. Luckily we found one of the professors shopping, and she helped guide us back to the bus. At the end of our shopping trip, I bought some baby elephant pants for my future niece/nephew, wooden chop sticks, and a ladle made out of a coconut shell. We ate lunch this afternoon at BCNC, and to be honest I don’t even remember what we ate! After lunch we traveled to the supermarket to buy some Thai food to take back to the States. I bought some Thai tea mix, coffee candy for my dad, soy sauce, and cards for my buddies. I was surprised by the prices at the market, they were more expensive than i was expecting. Before we left the supermarket area we bought ice cream crepes. They were pretty good, although the ice cream was more icy and less creamy. Before we got our crepes I started to feel strange again. My legs were getting weak and my head was starting to hurt. I could feel my energy and strength depleting. Thankfully after sitting down, drinking some water and eating some ice cream crepe I slowly started to feel better again. I have no idea what was going on with me today. When we got back from our adventures I wrote my cards to my buddies and spent some time praying. I thought we were meeting at 6pm, so i started getting ready at 5:40pm. Turns out we were meeting at 5:45PM, so I had 5 minutes to get ready! I rushed around to get ready in time. I threw on my new dress from the market, and tried to straighten my hair. The location of the farewell party was absolutely beautiful! Everyone looked so cute in their “normal” outfits. Oil wore a Hawaiian shirt and even straightened her hair and put makeup on! Nu wore a snazzy shirt and skinny pants. Both of them looked great! The party was full of mixed emotions. Halfway through the program i looked over at Oil and she was crying. Her eyes were bright red and her makeup was running down her face. I almost lost it right then and there. We hugged each other tightly and held hands as we sat next to each other. She tried her best to hide her tears from me. When she’d see me looking at her she’d smile and say “don’t cry, don’t cry”. Nu even got a little emotional as the night went on. At one point in the evening we all exchanged gifts. I feel like my gifts were so inadequate compared to theirs! They bought me a stuffed elephant from the first walking street we visited. They named her “Mon Ta junior”. They also bought me a little side purse and picture frames from the umbrella factory. The most special part of their gift came in an envelope. One of their siblings had drawn a cartoon picture of me playing a guitar! It was the funniest thing. On the back of the drawing was the words “This bond between us won’t be broken, I will be here, don’t you cry” which is from the song “You’ll be in my heart” from Tarzan. Also in the envelope were pictures from the trip. On the back of each picture was a description of what we were doing, and a quote about friendship and saying goodbye. I couldn’t help but tear up when i started reading them. This night was so emotional. Nu and Oil kept looking at me with sad eyes and saying “Forget me not”. I reassured them every time, “No never. I will never forget you”. Reality has finally hit me. I don’t want to leave them! I don’t want to say goodbye. These two people have gone from being complete strangers to being apart of my international family. They’ve been my lifeline these last few weeks. My trip wouldn’t have been the same without them. I don’t know how i’m going to hold it together when i have to officially say goodbye tomorrow. On a happy note at the end of the party we were all dancing and singing karaoke which was really fun! It was a mix of asian Kpop and American hits. That definitely helped to lighten the mood.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb