Gelato and Grasshoppers?!?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 23rd 2018
Published: January 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was another pretty chill day. For breakfast we had moo ping, sticky rice, snowballs, and fruit. I love snowballs so much. I really want to eat one right now. I’m definitely going to look for them at the Asia Mall when we get back to the States. This morning after breakfast a few of us walked down the street to Maliwan cafe. I got a blueberry Italian soda, which was pretty good. It was different from my usual Iced cocoa. Everyone chilled there until like 10:30, and then we all headed back to BCNC. Since we still had some time before lunch, Brielle, Melissa and I sat outside and read our devotionals. For lunch we had Khao Soi which was kind of spicy! I wish i liked spicy food. Around 1pm everyone went to go get Thai massages. I didn’t feel like getting another massage, so I stayed back at BCNC. I took a nice nap, which felt really good. I also spent some quiet time with God, while sitting on the balcony. Today God reminded me to be vulnerable with him, and to openly share my fears, emotions, and thoughts. Its tough being completely honest with yourself sometimes, much less with God. It was definitely a good reminder… That was basically my whole afternoon. Tonight for dinner we ate stir fry, rice, and fried egg. Once everyone ate our buddies met up with us, and we all piled into the big blue bus and went to the night bazar. Nu brought me Thai iced tea, which was really good! I love going places in the blue bus because we are all together. We were having so much fun singing and dancing tonight! The only thing that worried me was that Oil wasn’t acting like herself. She seemed sad or something. She wasn’t smiling or singing along to the songs or even really holding conversations. At one point Nu noticed that i was looking at Oil and had a concerned expression on my face. He leaned over to her and i’m pretty sure he told her to smile, because she gave a half smile and then a minute later went back to frowning. When we got off the bus I asked her what was wrong and she said nothing. I kept asking what was up and she wouldn’t tell me. I’m not really surprised, but something was definitely wrong. Shopping tonight was a success even though the bazar was more expensive. I bought 2 shirts, a dress for the farewell party, honey for my dad, a lamp, a baby outfit, fake Birkenstock sandals, icecream, and 2 chic kabobs for around $40. Tonight while we were shopping i found a gelato stand that was having a sale on 4 scoops of icecream for 99baht. I convinced Oil and Nu to each pick out a flavor and to help me eat the icecream. Oil picked mango, Nu picked passion fruit, and i picked dark chocolate and mint. To my surprise they actually helped me eat the icecream! Nu kept mixing the flavors, which i thought was gross. Later in the evening Nu made a comment that Oil was hungry, so I convinced them to let me buy them food. Nu had only eaten some bread for dinner, and Oil had some rice. They obviously were still hungry! When I offered to pay for their food they didn’t really fight me, which made me so happy. I feel like i finally won the battle! I can now say that I bought my buddies food. While we were waiting for the blue bus to pick us up, Mary offered me a grasshopper. Slowly i was convinced by my friends and buddies to eat it. I had Oil try it with me! I couldn’t think about it, i just had to eat it. I could feel the hairs on its legs, and the wings as I chewed it. Ew my face is still cringing, just writing this down. At least i have bragging rights, and can cross that off my bucket list. I don’t think ill ever want to eat a grasshopper again. The bus ride home was filled with more dancing and singing. However, i noticed that Oil was acting weird again. I started asking her if she was feeling sick, tired, or sad, and she said no to each one of them. I know that something is definitely wrong, and it just hurts my heart that i don’t know what. If i don’t know whats wrong, then i cant help her. Also tonight my buddies kept saying that they would miss me, and that they don’t want me to leave. Gosh I am going to miss them so much. Fun Dee kah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb