Getting a scooter


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 9th 2017
Published: November 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Arrived safely in Pai today o/

Which was a bit of an ordeal. I first went and walked to a place where I could buy traintickets. For the nighttrain to Bangkok, on monday.

Then to 'aya' company, that supposedly had a good deal: hire a scooter for a day and turn it in, at pai. They will bring your luggage separately.

Sooo.. I arrived there at the end of the morning (still jetlagged, couldn't sleep, even used a sleeping pill and slept until 8 or do. Took me two more hours to sort my bags, shower and get out. Then some breakfast and more talking to the owner called 'Big' about where to go.

(interestingly, I had my second conversation with a random experienced traveler at the bakery. This one from Lebanon. (learned that there's about 18M Libanese all over the world. Only 7M in Lebanon itself) and that he had some.. Cultural trouble with his Thai girlfriend, in, that everything is OK, except kissing. 'mouth is only for eating'.

The other one was a guy originally from Sweden, that wanted an authentic experience. Away from the touristy places. He recommended going to the islands in the southeast, on the north side of the gulf of thailand ).

.. So anyway, this is getting long..
Got to Aya. No more scooters. The wanted to bring my bag, though. And immediately proceeded to let a guy taxi me to another rental agency (for 50 bath; normal taxis are 30, but I had a hard time refusing.. It's only 1.25€..)

He didn't mention that we were going to pick up a number of other passengers on the way and it was by this time I remembered that my creditcard was in the other bag. (had the presence of mind to get my passport, driver's license and debit card, but not extra money)..

So when we finally arrived at the scooter hiring place, I was happy that they would accept a debit card, with 3000 baht deposit and 3% fee on the hiring price and deposit.

..turns out my debit card does not work for them, but there was an atm nearby. No more 3% fee, but a bank fee of even more, 220 baht. (5,50 + 4,50 for my local bank, ing). I paid the same for the first time I used an atm. Don't like to carry so much cash around, but, yeah.

Anyway. They helped me a lot! Fine scooter (125cc),a but of explanation, directions, a good helmet. Felt safer with it, than with most others they had 😊. Price wasn't too bad either. About 25 euros until Monday (couldn't turn it in, in pai). And I'll get 75 back, then. The other option was to let them keep my passport for that time. No.

I got a scooter!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb