On to Pai! (or 'scooter adventure 101')


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 9th 2017
Published: November 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Some monument on the side of the road. Some monument on the side of the road. Some monument on the side of the road.

Good excuse to let the adrenaline down and move around a bit, after Chiang Mai traffic
So. On to Pai! And to learn how to drive a powerful scooter in the hectic Chiang Mai traffic. On a route which is described as 'long, adventurous, scenic'. Oh and that lots of foreign tourists would crash there. The streets are supposedly filled with people in bandages.

.. On my way to Aya (45m-1h walk) I saw two police funnels, where people got tickets. I decided on another route, but had some trouble following. Decided against moving lanes to get my right turn and kept moving straight. Switched to the other side of the street when traffic was lighter and took the left turn. Did some more of that at first and ended up taking the outside of the inner city ring in the longer direction, because traffic was easier and a warned man should not take unnecessary risks.

Next was the 107 northwards. Again, no strange takeovers or going near/over the curb to take over cars waiting at the traffic light. I was the weird tourist that waited in line, with the cars, until the light turned green... Until I could actually see a path I could take, without obstacles or small paths and saved 20m off
Stopped at a local food place. Stopped at a local food place. Stopped at a local food place.

Had some kind of sausage, sticky rice & possibly the best coffee to date
waiting for the traffic light.

Some observation: if you're 'not using the gas' and the scooter won't stop, you're still using it. Just braking helps, but it becomes a wild animal trying to pull you to the abyss...

I've had this happen to me a couple of times. The most memorable was when exiting another police funnel :/. They could laugh about it and signaled to decrease speed :x :p. (police funnel: 'please remove your helmet'. Where are you from? How long in Thailand? Do you have a smoke?)

.. I skipped a bit there. Ehm, so I learned to control my scooter better and better. Lean in, feel more comfortable at speed (up till 80) and arrived safely in Pai., after 762 turns. Picked up my luggage and checked into my hostel..


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb