Lonely beach, Bang Bo and my knight in shining armour (Well Denim miniskirt)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand » Koh Chang
June 6th 2012
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We had a couple of days of lovely sunshine, so I spent the first on the beach, and then on the second I visited nearby Bang Bo and afterwards went back to the beach.

The beach in itself was relatively quiet, spent time just laying on the beach watching the waves, and jumping in for a dip when it got too hot. The tide comes in quite quickly, and there were two girls playing around in the surf. Unfortunately for them, before they noticed the sea had snuck up on their belongings, and there was five minutes of them frantically trying to save all of their stuff from being swept into the sea. Being the gentleman I am, I watched for a moment with a smile on my face. I got up to go and offer my help, but luckiy they had managed to rescue their now damp stuff and no asssitance was needed.

On the way back from the beach I came across a troop(?) of monkeys using the telegraph wires as a highway. Happily going from one side of the road to the other. Unfortunately I had already returned my camera to my room so no pictures of the little blighters.

I can't recall what I did that night, so I assume it was just food and a few beers. Everyone seemed to be leaving lonely beach in numbers, and there were noticably fewer people than had been around the next week.

The next day (Yesterday) I decided that I should visit the nearby fishing village of Bang Bo. It was around ten o'clock and I quickly found a taxi heading that way. 50 Baht and 10 minutes later over the same hilly roads, and I was dropped off at the entrance to the pier.

I am sure that there must be more to the village, hidden away on the main road, but where I was dropped there were a few shops (Even a 7-Eleven) and then the entrance to the pier. The first half og the pier is almost entirely enclosed on either side by shops. Mainly selling the usual tourist tat, some dive shops and a few restaurants.

Now to say that it was quiet was an understatement. I was the only customer there, and I wasn't buying!. The shop keepers were either sitting chatting, or lying asleep on their shop floor. There were a few attempts to get me to look at their wares, but I don't actually think any of them expected me to actually buy anything.

Walking out to the end of the pier was quite pleasant. All of the boats that I expect would be busy during the high season were moored up. The only living people I saw were two locals fixing a scooter, and one asleep at the end of the pier under the lighthouse.

After a while just sitting there enjoying the view and the breeze, I did actually see two more tourists. But they too were empty handed and went and sat at the end of the pier, and I never saw them again.

Coming back through the shops out to the other side I got back to where I had been dropped off, and lo and behold no taxis in sight.

I sat around for ten or so minutes and with still noone coming to pick me up, I decided to walk back up to the main road and try my luck there.

By the time I had walked up the road five minutes and out of the village with still no taxi in sight. I wondered whether I should have bought myself some water for the walk. Still going along the lines of a taxi appearing soon, I decided not to head back and get a drink and to keep heading back towards lonely beach. After another ten minutes or so, I was seriously considering my sanity in my choice of transport. Still no sign of a taxi, and the sun was beating down.

It was at this moment my knight in denim mini skirt appeared! She (I say this loosely) appeared from behind me on a scooter, saw a crazy ferang(me) walking in the middle of nowhere. Graciously she stopped and asked where I was going and why. When I said back to Lonely beach as I was staying there, with only a slightly strange look (Like, you are walking in this heat!) she offered me a lift.

It didn't take her long to work out that I and scooters don't mix. "Don't hold onto the back, you make the bike wobble" which I did. "Hold tighter with your legs, your shaking the bike" which I was. And then there were the hills... poor little scooter having my weight on the back. We made it up the hills, just. We managed to have a nice chat on the way back, after I had relaxed enough for her to control the bike.

As we were just getting to Lonely Beach, she told me that she would need to drop me off at the start. She had a boyfriend, who was away. And as she was well known, she said people would talk if they saw me on the back of her bike. I can understand this, and so she dropped me off, refused any money and drove on her way. I will love her forever, that would not have been a lovely walk back in the countryside. More a burning of a daft ferang. I saw two taxis going the other way just after I had got back.

I then went back to the beach for the rest of the day. Even these people than the day before. I think I counted about a dozen all afternoon.

At dinner that night, I was in the company of a thai Jack Sparrow lookalike! He even had the Johnny Depp glasses to go with the whole look. I am sure he uses this to his advantage whenever possible 😊

Due to the fact that it was so quiet, I booked a ticket back to Bangkok for today. This is where I am at the moment. My choice is either north toward Pai and the hippies, or south to either Ko Tao or Phi-Phi. I think the hippies are winning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



7th June 2012

Loving it.
Great blog Sheds, i'm there with you. Have you thought of fly to Pucket then Phi Phi, Lanta, Lipi by boat then return to wherever by bus...I've not been to Lanta but Lipi was amazing (not sure if you can go at this time of year coz of the weather)...Lipi is close to Malasia. What ever you do i know you'll have fun...enjoy pal...Gord.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb