4th station Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
July 14th 2010
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The first 3 three days in Thailand I spent in BKK...the first 2 nights I literately spent in the 'German Quarter'. Just around were plenty of German institutions such as Goethe institute, German embassy and even a German bookshop where I enjoyed some home culture. Well BKK...the old part of the city is very nice but in general the city is too busy, noisy and polluted for me. hat's why headed to the old Thai capital Ayuttaya. Alone the journey to this place was an experience...Thai train 3rd class without aircon...one feels like on a market as all the time vendors are walk through the carriages to sell anything imaginable. But who cares...paying 50 Aussie cents for more than 3 hours train journey. People here are super friendly...always smiling, waving and greeting me but too many Europeans wandering around. On the next day I hired a bike to ride around the town...at least a fresh breeze in my face in this heat. I reckon here is on of the highest density of temples...very beautiful. Anyways, I wonder how comes I always get lost here in Thailand hahaa. While doing a boat trip around the river I got the same impression like in Malaysia and Taiwan, the poorer the people the more happy and satisfied they seem with their lives. They must focus on the real important things rather than on the release date of new iPhone. My next stop was Katchamaburi. Well not so much to see in this place except some Chinese architecture. But nice laid-back town. Many Western people just enjoy themselves here...especially elder Western guys seem to have their second spring here. Well another important thing I figured out today is the max number of passengers a motorbike can carry: 5...However if 1 is exceptionally fat than 3. Next day I took the train to Nnam Tok to travel on part of the 'Death Railway'. Nice ride through scenic landscape. Most passengers on this train were Dutch...our tiny neighbor country must be empty right now.
Next day Lop Buri...well it took me pretty much the whole day to get to this town just 150 ks away...motorbike taxi - bus - bus - minibus - cycle taxi. The highlight of this place were definitely the little naughty monkeys everywhere just doing crap all the time and trying to steal things like my food. No I don't share.
Back in BKK I enjoyed nice day with Wat seeing the Grand Palace and the Emerald Buddha. Afterwards we went to Thai massage...well I just can say guys are too soft and yes it is nice when the pain reliefs haha. In the evening Beer and me went out to have some nice Chinese dinner.
Unfortunately, I didn't make it to Thailand's great beaches...next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb