Bridge over the river Kwai, Erwan Falls


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

the Bridge over the River Kwaithe Bridge over the River Kwaithe Bridge over the River Kwai

Yeah, kinda short and stout, not so impressive. But it's the real thing post repairs. BTW, did you know that Thailand was never fully invaded by either the Japanese or the Allies because no maps of Thailand existed as Thailand had never been colonized by a Western power? Thailand played the Western powers against each other to avoid colonization. This is understandably a pretty big source of pride for Thais.
Post dental and physical repair, we went to the River Kwai where an annual light and sound show was taking place. The show was of course mostly in Thai but we saw groups running around with Japanese flags, a vintage train chugged down the tracks, and remote controlled planes dropped "bombs" and blew up the bridge with great fireworks and burning explosions.

We took a motorbike to one of the most beautiful national parks to which I've ever been. Erawan Falls consists of seven falls (why is it always seven falls/pools?) which fall into aqua blue pools swimming with fish which nibble at your toes when you take a dip. I didn't include pics of all 7 so nobody harass me about the numbers in the pic titles please.

A flyer at our hotel advertised a "tiger temple" which showed pictures of gorgeous tigers and saffron robed monks sitting about in a Thai temple. It was as if some sort of Zen spirituality managed to connect man and beast in a miraculous nirvana. Jeez, we gotta see that! So we went but there was no temple and no saffron robed monks. Regular Thais walked tigers, first young ones and then later big ones, out into an open area on large chains. We were pretty disappointed but sat and watched the young ones play with each other and sharpen their claws on trees just like house cats.

Some of the big ones looked like they were not exactly at peace and their trainers would kind of smack them on the head when they behaved in a negative way. Like some Thai person could really stop a tiger from doing whatever it wanted to do! The handlers would have people come up and pose behind the cats for photos. Nobody was getting mauled so we jumped off the Brooklyn Bridge with everyone else and posed for photos. Well Toby had it easy with a young 'un who was sleepy but cheerful. I got a shot with a massive Catzilla that tossed it's head threateningly in my direction when I squatted down behind him. I had visions of magician Roy being dragged away with his neck in the jaws a giant white tiger. Could be me. But thankfully it wasn't. If you ever find yourself here, I wouldn't suggest this.

One thing about Thailand I plan to bring home with me is "Mai pen rai" which loosely translates to "it doesn't matter" - i.e. don't worry about it. If it's in the past and there's nothing you can do about it, don't sweat it. I am a major stress monkey and I have a hard time letting things go. Maybe this is common in Western society.

So, I got hit by a bus and could have been mauled by a tiger. Mai pen rai.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

A dip in the fallsA dip in the falls
A dip in the falls

As is usually the case with waterfalls, the water was a bit chilly until you dunked. The fish nibbling at my feet and legs made me squeal like a little girl.
Short tailed monkeyShort tailed monkey
Short tailed monkey

Spotted a group of these monkeys at Erawan Falls. Not really sure what kind they are but they seem quite a bit like those trouble making Macaques.
SigfriedSigfried
Sigfried

Okay, so he's not as swishy as Sigfried.
RoyRoy
Roy

Yeah, he coulda snapped my neck like a twig. Mai pen rai!


15th December 2008

Mai pen rai!
I'm so glad you're ok! I've heard buses usually win...I'm glad you gave it a run for its money. Mai pen rai indeed! I am a stress monkey myself and will definitely need you to teach me the ways of this mysterious "fuggedaboutit" from the far East. :)
15th December 2008

Kitties
Love the kitty cats! Pools and waterfalls remind me of Hawaii. Glad you take such good pictures for us all to see. Take care, Love, Mom
15th December 2008

Mai pen rai
"Mai pen rai" - very Buddhist, very present moment. If only we could remain in each present moment! :-) Thanks for the vicarious travel experience. - Kris
18th December 2008

Wow! So much excitement!
Sounds like you had a lot more excitement than you expected. I'm glad you are okay and keeping a "it doesn't matter" tude. -Eric
18th December 2008

crazy people
Okay guys, you are crazy people! Foreign dentists, buses, tigers!!!! Oh My! Lisa, I'm glad you're okay. Toby, don't let her out of your sight again! (the tigers are cute yet scary) The falls are some of the prettiest I've ever seen, I'll take a print of #4! Enjoy your weather, we've got one of the most violent rain storms I've ever seen right now! (Some of these squirrels are pretty scary too!) Paul

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb