Thai Adventures, Part three...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Singburi
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Week Two, The Lemon House.


This week began with a trip to Ayutthaya where we visited some ancient ruins. This trip was followed by a visit to an elephant park where we stayed for a while and watched the elephants get their daily shower and were amused by the baby ellies playing together.
Tuesday began a three day focus on Buddhism which began with us getting up at 5.30am to give some local monks breakfast. Then we visited a Buddhist temple that afternoon. Wednesday we went back to the temple to have an overnight stay. Firstly we had to change into white pyjamas because it's a sign of purity. During the day we had two sessions, led by one of the head monks, in meditation. The following morning, after a sleepless night on the floor in an empty room, we were up at 5am so that we could go out with the monks. They walk around the local houses, restaurants and early morning market everyday at 5.30am to collect food for the temple. We walked along behind them, a little bewildered, watching them collect spoonfuls of rice in their bowls and other food items to put on the trolley a man pushed behind us. We then returned to the temple and all the food gets laid out on a long table. The monks eat first, then the nuns, then the other workers at the temple and then we were allowed to eat. With all due respect I wasn't very comfortable having left overs of food that was given away in the first place...
We swept the driveway clear of leaves and then received a blessing from the head monk before we left. It was an unusual experience and I can't say that I didn't get anything out of it because I did but it's definitely one that will not be forgotten.
Friday we visited a spa for the day and spent the night. Yet another surreal 24 hours. We went to the "spa" and got shown a list of treatments, only to be told that non of them were available! The hotel phoned out for a masseuse to come to give us a thai massage. This time though it was a particularly uncomfortable and at times painful experience. After getting pulled, poked and pummeled in every area we had to have a lay down before diner.
The evening's entertainment was karaoke to ourselves as we were the only guests in the hotel. This time though, I not only got the courage to sing, once I sang one song I didn't want to put the microphone down and rolled out a few songs throughout the evening. Secretly I loved it and can't wait to do it again !! X-factor here I come !!
Saturday we went to a pottery, a hundred year old market and an aquarium. Another full on week and am just having a rest before tomorrow. Five of us are heading up further north for trekking in the Phutuei national park. I have no idea what to expect but as I have learnt I shall go with an open mind a flexible attitude and tons of mosquito repelant !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



2nd November 2008

Another brilliant blog young lady!! Bril photos - you and your monks.....I'm getting a bit worried about you. OMG perhaps I shouldn't have read your blog.......now I know what you meant by the monks visit was "interesting"!!! best I pig out before I go eh? Anyway hun take care luv ya lots jo x x x
3rd November 2008

Well Karen, it all looks fabulous. What a wonderful way to enjoy the world. You look fantastic in your pics and I love the ellies!!! I want one.......... Take care.xx

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb