Thai Adventures, Part two..


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Singburi
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Home


For the first two weeks of this trip base camp is The Lemon House. The accommodation is lovely, two bed, large, clean rooms with bathrooms, set amongst a beautiful garden of wild orchids, butterfly's and bird song waking you at daybreak. It is definitely the nicest accommodation yet and the actual camp is set along side the river. It is so tranquil and a total contrast to Bangkok's noise and smog. We are to spend our time here doing various cultural activities and exploring the area.
One day this week we spent on a bike ride. This was a lovely way to peacefully glide through the surrounding villages, stopping to look at the local vegetation, all the herbs the Thai people use in their cooking growing naturally on the riverside and the beautiful wild flowers at every turn. Going across on the do it yourself river ferry was great fun.
We have also had a Thai cookery lesson (loving all the chillies and garlic!) and a language lesson, which was less successful being a very hard language to grasp. We've visited the town of Singburi, about twenty minutes away, which is the nearest civilisation and had another Thai massage, only this time it cost us two pounds for the hour!
Also this week we have visited various temples, seen monkeys, topiary elephants, Buddhas of all shapes and sizes, monks in Tescos doing the groceries, been to a Thai bar be que, karaoke (no I didn't sing) had my fortune told, visited a rice flour cake factory and made our own jewelry from coconut husk and I'm sure I've forgotten some other things!! It's no wonder that now I've got some free time I feel like a siesta so for now my dears,hasta luego!! K xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th October 2008

You're Amazing
As always you're photos are fantastic Karen. I am so glad I've met you - I think we're gonna be mates for a long time to come. Keep up the brilliant blogs - I love reading them. I feel like I'm there with you. Lots of love miss u heaps c u in oz soon!!! jo x x x
29th October 2008

Hi !!!
Hi Karen! It is sooo fun reading your posts...did it all at once as I procrastinate on even the fun stuff... (?) So you are well into your adventure since Antigua and though I am sure you're road weary and all, it still looks tremendous and makes me long for the freedom of it all. Jes is having the time of her life in her last year of school and doing great. We are still looking forward to doing more work in Guatemala but have'nt any plans as yet. Guatemala seems so 100 years ago... So good to see you having such a good time!!! I hope it just gets better and better...LIVE IT UP GIRL and stay safe...Hasta luego, JILL

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb