Sawadeeka Thailand - the first week


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
October 25th 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Flying out to Thailand was without a doubt the scariest thing I have ever had to do, I hadn’t been particularly nervous or excited in the run up to it but the night before as I said bye to my best friends, sister and niece I became an emotional wreck and the nerves kicked in, what the hell was I doing?!

Saying bye to my parents at the airport was hard and I was so nervous all the way there, when we finally got there and checked into our hotel close to Bangkok airport I was still a nervous wreck but after a tearful phonecall home I decided to just try and enjoy it and if I hated it then I could always go home.

After a few hours bus drive, meeting loads of new people and a stop off at KFC I was feeling a lot more positive but then again that night the nerves kicked in. Luckily on Monday morning I woke up with a much more positive frame of mind.



WEEK IN PATTAYA - My first week was spent in a lovely beach front hotel in Pattaya, I met some great people and we became great friends within a few days. I was still a bit nervous about where I was going to be placed and terrified of been in the middle of nowhere on my own but I tried not to think of it and enjoy myself.

Apart from having seminars on lesson plans and Thai culture I had an amazing time; drinking chang in the rooftop swimming pool at happy hour every night. We spent most nights drinking chang and Thai whiskey on the beach but on Wednesday night we had a bit of a wild night out. It was one of the American girls Danni’s birthday and so after the standard happy hour changs in the pool we all had pre-drinks in one of our rooms and headed down to walking street in tuk tuks. Well what a night and what an experience.. The place was like nothing I had ever seen before. Plenty of lady boys, older western men with their Thai women and hilarious people everywhere. About 25 English teachers doing sambuca shots and shisha pipes, a ping pong show, pigging out at mcdonalds and doing shots with a bunch of american marines made I a night to remember.

Getting home at 4am meant that there were quite a few sore heads the next morning at breakfast…


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb