You're sending me where??!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
October 26th 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

So after a week of anxiously waiting on Thursday afternoon they finally decided to tell us where we were to be based and which school we would be teaching in. One by one we all nervously went up to collect our school information pack and I found out I was based in a small village in Central Thailand. As everyone found out who was going to be with or near to them and I couldn’t find anyone who was based in the same town I started to get worried, my worst fears were then confirmed when I found out I was to be the only English speaking person in this little village in the middle of nowhere. After near heart failure and a few tears I decided I had to go and speak to the director, I explained that there was no way I would last for 5 months living on my own in a tiny village with no other English people around. Luckily they understood and were great about it, telling me they would find me another school, but that meant another anxious night and being back to square one.

Friday morning I was told that I would be sent to Mukdahan in very North East Thailand on the border with Laos, I had never heard of it and when I thought of coming to Thailand I never thought I would be 9 hours from the beach but at least it was a bigger town and I was going with one of my friends.

It might not be Bangkok and I might not have a beach on my doorstep but at least I wasn’t going to be on my own in the middle of nowhere and the last place they offered me, anything was an improvement…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb