Songkran


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Pattaya
April 19th 2006
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was Songkran here in Pattaya it was the big day today anyway it has been water fights on and off since the 13th April here, I thought it would be pretty cool to be here for this festival as I was assured by people who had been here last year that it is a mad one.

Songkran is a Thai word which means "move" or "change place" as it is the day when the sun changes its position in the zodiac. It is also known as the "Water Festival" as people believe that water will wash away bad luck.
The Songkran tradition is recognized as a valuable custom for the Thai community, society and religions. The value for family is to provide the opportunity for family members to gather in order to express their respects to the elders by pouring scented water onto the hands of their parents and grandparents and to present them gifts including making merits to dedicate the result to their ancestors. The elders in return wish the youngsters good luck and prosperity. This is how it was I guess in the past now it is one big crazy party here in Pattaya.


Well the day started off fairly quiet outside the Dive Shop not too many people but lots of water and lots of talc and some strange white stuff that is mixed with water to bless your face or any other part of your body the women or men wish to bless!!!.

Today coincided with the elections also so that meant that alcohol had to stop being served on the 18th April at 6pm until 00:00 on the 19th this would be a problem in most countries but not Thailand... to hell with the law lets start drinking at 10:00am was most people’s attitude.

So on we went to start out trip to Pattaya which was always going to take forever but unlike most days we were certainly not going to feel the heat. It’s a strange day here as 95% of businesses are closed and only outlets such as Burger King Etc are open so the streets are pretty busy.

I cannot even tell you how many gallons of water I must have had poured on me some freezing cold which in this heat may sound nice but it’s a extreme temperature change.

Seeing so many Thai’s clearly enjoying themselves was amazing they are so tolerant I could not imagine a festival like this taking place in any other country in the world. Imagine you are on your way to work and along comes a pick up full of people who proceed to soak you and douse you in talc….Only in Thailand.

This will be my last diary from Thailand as the New Year comes into Thailand I will be heading to Sydney and seeing what Australia has to offer, I am pretty excited as I have never been there and I am looking forward to seeing new places and hopefully get some work as a Diving Instructor but we will see.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Adam Adam
Adam

I think theres a little something on your face
Jeni Jeni
Jeni

Icy cold water
PulledPulled
Pulled

Yes mate it is a bloke!!!


20th April 2006

Mac And Me
hey jigga man tell them to stop wasting water theres a shortage in the pissin world ya know hope your cool man have a great time in oz still got the mac n me then!!!!! lol d2
21st April 2006

great pics bruce and best of luck in oz
Just recovered from sonkhram gonna give my kidneys a breather for a hour or two so best of luck pal may we meet in some dive shop far far away(from the uk)
21st April 2006

good times!
Bruce matey- you're having so much fun you'll never be back here!! Enjoy oz and some brilliant diving :) Stay moist. xx
23rd April 2006

Got you hahahah
Good to speak to you Have a fantastic time with Terry Gee Delia and family and enjoy home cooking Keep well and lots of love hugs kisses till then
24th April 2006

Great journal
Hi Bruce, Gaz sent me this to see the photos of Sonkhram but as I am a nosey big sister, I had to check out the photos of Cambodia too as I know he had a fab time with you and Chicago. Enjoy the rest of your travels. We can't wait to have Gaz home on the 31st May. Debs
25th April 2006

That's a bloke....uh oh
Good luck in Oz B. Sorry I missed giving you a proper good bye but I honestly thought it was a bird and now I am living my own 'Crying Game'. Wish me luck. Keep in touch.
26th April 2006

Quality stuff Brucey boy, good luck in Oz my man and make sure you sort out those lady issues!

Tot: 0.491s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb