Party in Sihanoukville and Ko Samet


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
May 24th 2011
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody,

Hope all is well...Been partying in Sihanoukville in Cambodia, so didn't do my blog...

So where we left off last time, we went out that night in the capital with 2 girls who worked in our hotel from Cambodia, they took us around some bars and clubs...Was an ok night, problem is in Cambodia is it is so poor there are loads of girls in all the bars and clubs that want you to pay for them for the evening...apart from that it was a good night out...Next day we went to the Killing Fields. We took a tuk tuk, took about half an hour. I didn't take any picture what so ever as I didn't think it was appropriate. The only way I can describe it is imagine what it would be like visiting a concentration camp. It was truley awful, basically just tonnes of mass graves and the fields where Paul pott had killed thousands of Cambodians. We didn't stay for to long, once we had been round the museum, as there wasn't much to see and we headed back to the hotel...We chilled out and played poker that evening, me and Liam got to the final again and then headed to Sihanoukville the next day...

We got the bus, took about 7 hours and cost about 3 quid, I must say the buses in Cambodia are far better then Thailand, as they are proper coaches and not little minibuses, so much more room...I started reading the Bourne Identity, good book...We got to Sihanoukville at around 17:00, we had set off at around 9:00am...We stayed in a really nice hotel for 4 days, which had a mint swimming pool. I shared a room with Adam and Liam and it was right by the side of the pool. Really nice and really clean. We wandered down to check out the beach, which was a bit disappointing, as the water was not crystal clear and just wasn't what we expected...Anyway, I will group the next 4 days together in 1 paragraph...

Sihanoukville is the party capital of Cambodia. For the first couple of days we went out and were playing drinking games and then chilling by the pool in the days, relatively low key. I spent most of my evenings pool sharking and paying winner stays on and doubles. We also had lots of killer pool tournaments. We were straight opposite the main hostel in the area, Monkey Republic. We spent most of our time in there playing games and pool. Me and this Cambodian girl played doubles on the 2nd night and we must of been on the table for 3 hours without losing. There was Australians all over the show as there was a navy warship parked up for the week, so they were all having a 'week off'. Was well funny, they are so so competitive, even more than the english and they couldn't knock us off the table...Won some dollars and free beers, so was well good...On Friday and Saturday night we went out and celebrated Zac's birthday, was absolute quality...We had so much fun and the saturday night of his birthday has to be one of the best and funniest nights I have ever had, I'rl leave it at that haha...I have got some hillarious photo's I will be posting on facebook at some point...good times...

The last day (Sunday) we chilled out and watched the footy in the evening. I had a savage tummy bug, which was not nice, so didn't eat much and felt rubbish. We watched the Man UTD Blackpool game, the manc's were loving the trophy lift at the end. The banter was flying all night, Zac beat all the boys in their fantasy league, I beat Adam in Carl's Burnley League and if anybody from Preston Hockey Club is reading this or best mates from home, haha unlucky and better luck next year...Warany I've sent you my bank details so get the prize money in there...haha

Next day (Monday or yesterday) we got up very very early and spent all day traveling to Ko Samet. First part of the journey in Cambodia was cool, nice big empty coach, me and Adam hit the back row and I slept for 4 hours. Then we got through the border and into Thailand and got crammed into a minibus for a 3 hour journey to the pier where we were to get the boat from. Was absoulutly horrendous and definitely the worst I felt with my stomach bug. We got to the pier and payed a tenner each fro a speedboat to take us to the island. I sat on top of the front of the boat, for about 2 minutes as when we got out of the port the driver opened up the engines and I would of fallen in, so sat in the bow of the boat with Adam and Sam. This was bad enough as we were so high in the air and were flying around in the air. Normally this would make people sick, but exactly the opposite happened. The fresh air actually sorted me out and I went from feeling sick on a bus, to actually ok... we got dropped off on the beach and had to walk 5 yards in the sea with our bags and then sat on the beach chilling...Some of the boys went separate ways looking for accommodation. Adam and Zac who had been before found us a room, that sleeps 7, 3 doubles and a single...Think its about 7 quid each, quite expensive for Asia but cheapest we could find. Nice room though...We headed out and went to a pizza place. We were the only people in there and we sat and watched a DVD, the pizza's took over an hour but we were in no rush, we had sides of wings garlic bread and fries...by the time the pizzas came I was nearly asleep, we had a few slices and then all hit the sack for midnight...

Today has defo been one of the best days of the trip. Think the combination of the speedboat, no alcohol and 11 hour sleep has sorted me out and I feel ok again, touch wood. Ko Samet is a lovely Island, beach is amazing and quiet which is good. Today we have just chilled on the beach all day. Went swimming and finished my Bourne book...Me and Liam also shared a jet ski which was quality. Was 12 quid each for half hour, a lot cheaper then Europe. We had half an hour and were bombing it all around the bay, taking it turns to drive. Was well well well good fun, we had 1 stack and went flying, but apart from that was all ok...They also hire out speedboats for 3 hours, which is the best news ever, so tomorrow we are going to take one and burn it round the Island. I literally cannot wait....!!!! Right I'm going finish typing, my back and fingers hurt and i can't type + spell anymore...

Love you all...x x x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb