Sawasdee!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Chang
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

That is the extent of my Thai and I'm not even sure if I spelled it correctly! Anyways it means "Hello," and a good one to know! To tell you the truth there is not really much to report about. We really have been relaxing these few days. Basically, our days been spent reading, sitting on the beach, playing cards, swimming in the pool, getting massages, watching the Olympics in Thai, observing the alligators and enjoying the sunset. The girls have been appreciating my lovely renditions of Whitney Houston and Justin Timberlake. (I never understood, why I didn't get the solo in my fourth grade chorus concert- seriously I am bringing "Sexy Back!") Although it seems to be unneventful, it really is quite enjoyable and what we needed and wanted at this point in the trip.

We are anxiously awaiting Eric's arrival. Without having cell phones it is difficult to know when exactly he will be arriving, but we know it is sometime today. The staff already equipped our room with an extra bed. I am sure Eric will be a little disappointed to see that Kristin and I are not allowing him to be sandwiched in the middle of our King Size bed- Sorry Eric!

I'm beginning to appreciate this Island and what it has to offer. I think once I realized that Ko Chang will never be Atlantis Paradise Island, I've actually been able to really see the island's true beauty and peacefulness that it can bring to a person. It definitely has grown on me and slowly I am learning that it's important to give things a chance before making any initial judgements.

My biggest excitement today was finding a very large coconut on the beach. I went for a long walk and on the way back I picked up a coconut. Like how Tom Hanks befriended a volleyball in "Cast Away" I have a lovely coconut named Mousse (no I have not gone insane). Mousse got his name from the Paul Mitchell mousse that I thoroughly enjoy using in my hair. It has a very familiar coconut smell. This large coconut reminds me that in one week, I can revisit all my girly qualities: using mousse, applying make up, taking long showers, wearing heals, and waxing my eyebrows. I know I was never really one of those big girly girls, but repeatlying having to wear the same smelly clothes and handwashed underwear is apparently getting to me. As much has I am thrilled about this trip and my new experiences a variety in clothing and non frizzy hair would be quite appealing at this moment. Good thing I have a wedding the weekend I arrive back to the States. (I think it's important for us to find an adventure for tomorrow so when I blog next I don't have to talk about an inanimate object such as a coconut in order to entertain my readers!)

Across from the hotel is a restaurant called "Rock Sugar." We have gone there the last two nights to eat, play cards, and listen to the repeated songs of Shaggy and James Blunt . The staff is extremely pleasant and so interested in engaging with us. The bartender was so excited to show us magic tricks after watching us play cards. He spent thirty minutes entertaining us with various tricks and some were quite impressive. Communication between the groups is in broken English and the use of many hand gestures. Although we never really speak in full sentences, the laughter and smiles we all share is just so satisfying and fun. It goes to show that laughter is Universal- (Swedish Massages on the otherhand...not so much!!!)

Much Love,
Christina


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Mountains in the BackgroundMountains in the Background
Mountains in the Background

That's where all the elephants live!
Tiger the Magician!Tiger the Magician!
Tiger the Magician!

At Rock Sugar
AlligatorsAlligators
Alligators

They are eaten for breakfast! Poor guys!
AlligatorAlligator
Alligator

We watch them every day on our way to the beach!
MousseMousse
Mousse

My coconut!


11th August 2008

You've really lost your coconut!
I am glad you are giving the beach a chance but I hope you are not eating any alligators for breakfast. Miss you see you soon. Oh by the way Paul Mitchell discontinued the mousse while you were gone. Not enough demand for their product.
12th August 2008

LOL
HAHA im sorry i just had to add this ... 1 - you are an excellent writer! 2 - I feel like i am reading an educational novel when i read your posts! I think they are really great! I'm being completely honest when i say this that i think you should turn it into a novel or write some sort of novel! You are very talented and as much as i laugh reading it because i can picture you talking like this and it cracks me up i really enjoy it! Keep em comin' sister! xoxox

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb