Room with River View


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 12th 2010
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 13.7308, 100.521



Next morning, I had the flight to Bangkok the Golden Sun Car came to pick me up and we passed the lake early in morning with lot of people were exercising there and it was a very interesting ride. I really loved Hanoi and next time I will return, I will do Sapa as well.

The flight from Hanoi to Bangkok was smooth and 20 mins early, apart from filling a Arrival /Departure form there was no headache of Visas in Bangkok and No Visa stamp of whole page of passport. Thank goodness..
It was 11 am at the Bangkok airport and the immigration was quick but we had a long wait for our baggage and I changed the left over Yaun into Bhat while I was waiting for the luggage at the exchange booth near the luggage carousel. The exchange booth in airport gives the same exchange rate as ones in the town apart from Super Rich bank which do have slightly better currency rates then the banks especially if buying. The main branch is in the Ratchaprasong/Pratunam area near BIG C. There are two Super Rich Banks however unless you are in the area there is no point in going out of your way to save a few Bhats.




Then I took the taxi to Royal Orchid Sheraton from the official queue who gave me a receipt in case I had any problem with Taxi but I did not have any problem with the taxi who used the Meter and I paid 500 bhat to the driver including tolls and tips. He had taken me through the Sukhumvit area on my request so I could see the tourist's area. He was telling me that there were fewer tourists this year due to red shirt protests and problem at the airport.





I had slight Hanoi belly so the staff at the Royal Orchid Sheraton breezed me to my room straight away, my room was on 23rd floor and I had excellent view of Chao Phrya River, Millennium Hilton and Bangkok city. The hotel staffs were brilliant and constantly checked to see how I was. They even send me flowers and fruit, which cheered me up a lot, In the evening I was bit better so I took a ride on free hotel shuttle boat in order to see nightlife. I really enjoyed the river ride and it is good way of seeing a city. Royal Orchid Sheraton is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff, they went the extra mile to make my stay comfortable and for looking after me.








Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb