Arriving in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 13th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 13.7308, 100.521

I tried to sleep but it was very hard to get comfy when I only had the two seats to 'stretch out' on. If I tried propping back up between the wall and chair, the pillow would fall down between them. Chairs lie back a bit but the arm rest between the chairs didn't go as far back so it made it uncomfortable. Putting my head on the arm rest at aisle was most uncomfortable. Maybe drifted off, but not for long. Mel wanted to do school work but very hard when the cabin lights are off. You can turn on your own light but that does annoy other people. As they started to serve breaky, Mel said she felt sick. I buzzed and got her a water then buzzed again to get some dried biscuits. I ate breaky – Mel didn't. She cried as she felt so sick. About 18 minutes before landing Mel filled the bag (she had asked at the start of the trip what the bag was for – now she knows!) Got someone to buzz the hostess. I gave a new sick bag to someone else to open – she didn't know how!! The hostess did it for me then gave me a plastic bag to put the used bag in then left it with me! Surely she could have taken the full bag!!! I didn't want it!! And it wasn't easy juggling a bag of vomit, an empty bag waiting to be filled as well as try to comfort Mel!!! Mel did perk up after being sick, to the point where we swapped seats so she could have the window seat for landing.

We were 2nd last off the plane – it took a bit longer to get organised. Made our way to customs. We got through that in about 5 minutes. Our suitcase was already on carousel. Found MacClaey Valley lady who pointed us in the direction of the bus. Rang Peter then SMS'd Andy and Kyla saying 'Mel chucked…'

The bus ride was about 30 minutes. We had to stop and drop people off at another hotel. We sat in bus for 15 minutes waiting. Mel was sick again – luckily I'd grabbed another sick bag from the plane. Poor little girl.

We arrived at hotel and got the key. I asked them to buzz Mum and Dad. Dad answered phone just as I heard a scream. Mum had found us. After all that had been happening with their 'options' etc, I think Mum really needed the touch of family!!! After BIG hugs, the staff changed our room to be directly opposite mum and dad's room. We went up to the room, got organised and all went down to breaky – Mel had bacon and eggs. I figured she wasn't 'sick' sick, only travel sick so breakfast wouldn't hurt her. She managed to swallow travel sickness tablet with a mountain of yogurt

We got organised then went out.

Walked 15 minutes to the klong Toei/toey. We caught a boat to a shopping centre. It was a funny long motor boat. It pulls up at the dock – you jump on or off the boat and it goes again - quite often leaving before it'd stopped as people are just so quick. The shopping centre was amazing. It had the most amazing waterfall inside the centre. It went the height of the shopping centre – 4 storeys. It also ran along the centre of the mall as a river. It had HUGH fish swimming in there - about 1 metre long. We all had a drink then caught the boat back home. Mum took Mel back to the hotel to sleep whilst Dad took me to Robinsons. When you got to the front of the building, you could go upstairs to a shop similar to Myer or downstairs to the supermarket, post office and food court. We walked around the food court, bought the 'stamps' and ordered food - I had a ‘number 8 fried rice with duckling' – Pa's favourite. It is a funny payment system that they have. You go to a booth and exchange your cash for tickets. You use these tickets to pay for the food and, when you have finished eating, you go back to the booth to exchange any unused tickets - you cannot keep them for tomorrow!!!

Back to hotel. As I'd turned off the air conditioner before we went out, the room was quite warm. Mum had put Mel in her room which was cooler and sat in my room. Mel so tired she fell asleep without getting out her teddy Jessica. I had a sleep for an hour – until Mum woke us – room service wanted to come in. Still ½ asleep, we got up, into bathers and went for a swim. Pool was very deep and long – I only, by much determination, made it from one end to the other underneath the water. Ears felt like they'd popped when I was on bottom of pool. We stayed there for a while. Back up to room.

I had a shower and we all went out for dinner – back to Robinsons. I was going to order pork for me and No 8 for Mel. Pork not available. Mum said just order rice. I tried to explain that I'd eaten the whole plate by myself earlier but she wanted to share – we can go and get more if we need it. Pa got himself something and proceeded to eat it. Nana had her soup and Mel her rice. I did get little samples but not enough. I ended up going to the bakery. I really wish I could take photos of the food – unbelievable. Sausage in roll was a cocktail frank in a small bun. Frank with Mayo in roll. Flat roll cut down with frank in centre and cheese melted over top. A frank wrapped in a bun with the ends cut into 4 or 5 ‘straws' sticking out each end of the bun. These were all on the shelf - no fridge!!! You get a tray and serve yourself. I got a chocolate pie (choc filo pastry with a thick fudge-like centre) and something else??

Hotel and bed – very tired. 9.35 (12.35AEST)


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb