Bangkok - First Impressions....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 21st 2017
Published: January 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

I'll be honest, I didn't have very high hopes for Bangkok, I'd been given a lot of the same reviews and advice before we got here. Maybe because of my low expectations, that's why so far I don't hate it. Sure there are a lot of negatives, for one thing the place stinks, but honestly after the rudeness and abruptness we've encountered whilst being in Dubai, it's actually so nice to be greeted with a friendly smile, to have someone go above and beyond to let you check in 4 hours early... those things to me make the difference between enjoying myself and walking around with a face on.

The place is scary busy, there are people constantly under my feet! We went into the MBK Mall which is a 5 minute walk from our hotel, it's mad! 7 stories and it's a mix of market stalls, high end shops and restaurants selling all sorts. We braved our first market stall and haggled! Got myself a bag, some trousers and two dressings gowns, all for next to nothing! We went into the food hall, as I felt so far we hadn't actually ventured outside our comfort zone. I'll be honest, the smell of all the different cuisines mixed together made me gag, but Mikey was able to get his salmon and ribs, and I was able to be a bit more adventurous and get chicken yakisoba (obvs) and veggie spring rolls!

Woken up this morning feeling very sick, the thought of food is making me want to heave! All I've been able to stomach is a McDonald's coffee! I've decided for the foreseeable future, I'm gonna avoid meat - oh em gee Sian is a veggie!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb