PART 2 -- Back in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 9th 2005
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The PoolThe PoolThe Pool

A luxury so soon into the start of our trip.
I wrote 'The End' on my last travelblog, but that's not strictly true anymore.

Two months after being at home in England I flew over to California to live with Scott. I worked for a year whilst going through all the red tape to get into University to take a teaching degree. As soon as I graduated it was time to go travelling again so instead of 'The End' this is now 'part two'! The difference this time is that a lot of our family members and friends will join us for part of the trip as Scott and I are going to get married. In Bali.

We are back in Bangkok, our first destination. We have actually achieved quite a lot in these last few days. Within hours of landing in the country, we had bought our flights to Bali and the next day I achieved something in only 3 hours that was impossible to do over a period of months in America - I bought a wedding dress! Well, actually, I picked it out and it is being custom-made as we speak. I have my first fitting on Saturday!

It's nice to be back at all of our old haunts, although many have changed and some have disappeared completely. It's a shame as i wonder whatever happened to the people.

It is so hot and sticky here. We have decided that we can't live without a pool any longer so we are upgrading our hotel tomorrow. A little bit extravagant for the beginning of a nine-month trip, but well needed!

We've had a long wait here trying to get our Indonesian visas. We caught them on the weekend so the usual 3-day wait got extended out to 5 days. We picked them up yesterday and will be heading down to Malaysia on a 20-hour train ride starting this afternoon. To make the trip easier, we bought a CD walkman and some CDs from a street vendor off the infamous Khao San Rd. They seem to work fine so far... They are selling MP3 players for less than US$50 too, but we decided against it as we have no MP3 discs! I guess we are a bit behind the times?!

We are looking forward to some beach relaxation, although I need to take it easy as I have burnt my back at the swimming pool. Hopefully two days on a train with limited sun will cure it!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb